Now Playing

Ozzy Osbourne - Crazy Train

Win A Signed Copy Of Rival Sons' Head Down

HEAD DOWN - the superb brand new album from Rival Sons - is out this week and we have signed copies to give away.

Keep reading to find out how you could win a copy and to read our thoughts on the album.

Undeniably a musical progression from the excellent 2011 album Pressure & Time, HEAD DOWN tones down their last album's Zeppelin inclinations and instead draws its influences from the full encyclopaedia of rock and roll.

Still harking back to better days, this is an album that embraces the battle-hardened psychedelia of late 60s / early 70s acts such as (pre-shock rock) Alice Cooper and Vanilla Fudge, throws in a little of Mountain's blues groove, a healthy dash of the 60s British Invasion and tops it off with a little Detroit soul. The result is an intriguing, genre hopping record that sounds both utterly classic and absolutely brand new all at the same time.

Opening single, 'Keep On Swinging' and the raucous 'You Want To' are the closest relatives to their last album - all riff and big chorus. But it's the delightful smorgasbord of rock delights over the rest of the album which will keep you coming back for more. From the subtle nods to Cream ('Until The Sun Comes') via a little Animals ('The Heist') and even a touch of Nick Drake (the beautiful closing track 'True') it's like taking a crash course in Rock 101.

The standout is undoubtedly the ambitious and extraordinary two part, Manifest Destiny - the first part of which is an extended bluesy jam that somehow combines Jane's Addiction with Deep Purple and features a brilliant five minute solo that recalls Blackmore at his best.

It's an album that is best served by repeated plays. You may not fully appreciate what's on offer until the third or fourth visit, but once you've fully embraced HEAD DOWN you're going to struggle to remove it from the record player for the next few months.

The album is out now as a jewel case CD, digi-sleeve CD, vinyl and extremely limited stencil edition.

Here's the tracklist:

1. Keep On Swinging
2. Wild Animal
3. you Want To
4. Until The Sun Comes
5. Run From Revelation
6. Jordan
7. All The Way
8. The Heist
9. Three Fingers
10. Nava
11. Manifest Destiny Pt. 1
12. Manifest Destiny Pt. 2
13. True
Order the album at:

Listen to snippets of tracks from the whole album below:


We have a handful of copies of the brand new Rival Sons album which have been signed by the band to give away to Planet Rock listeners this week.

If you want to win a copy then all you need to do is fill in the form below and you will go into a prize draw.

Please do let us keep in contact so we make sure you don’t miss out. You can unsubscribe at any time from any email we send you via the unsubscribe link or by emailing

For our privacy policy go to

Bauer Media Group consists of Bauer Consumer Media Ltd, Bauer Radio Ltd and H Bauer Publishing.


The band are playing shows across the country from 21 September and tickets are selling fast.

Take a look at the dates below and get tickets now.

21 Sept - Brighton - Concorde 2
22 Sept - Bristol - Thekla
23 Sept - Nottingham - Rescue Rooms
26 Sept - Newcastle - O2 Newcastle Academy 2
27 Sept - Glasgow - The Garage
28 Sept - Manchester - Ritz
29 Sept - Wolverhampton - Wulfrun Hall
01 Oct - London - Electric Ballroom