Now Playing

Ghost - Faith

Classic Rock Awards 2012 NON Vote Sec

  • Living Legend: ZZ TOP Living Legend: ZZ TOP

    With a career spanning over four decades and with more than 50 million albums sold, the 'Tres Hombres' - Billy Gibbons, Frank Beard and Dusty Hill - are amongst the most influential and important bands that have ever lived. They will be on hand at this year's Classic Rock Roll Of Honour to pick up their award.

    Previous winners:

    2011: Jeff Beck
    2010: Rush
    2009: Iggy Pop
    2008: Ozzy Osbourne
    2007: Jimmy Page
    2006: Alice Cooper
    2005: Lemmy

  • Metal Guru Metal Guru

    Each year, Classic Rock's Metal Guru Award salutes the long-serving musicians and bands who have made metal the world-dominating force that it is today.

    Previous winners:

    2011: Scorpions
    2010: Geezer Butler & Tony Iommi
    2009: Biff Byford
    2008: MC5
    2007: Ronnie James Dio
    2006: Tony Iommi
    2005: Judas Priest

  • Breakthrough Award Breakthrough Award

    Every year, the Breakthrough Award recognises the bands and artists who have paid their dues and stepped up to the next rock and roll level

    Previous winners:

    2011: Black Country Communion
    2010: Imelda May
    2009: Joe Bonamassa

  • Classic Songwriter Classic Songwriter

    This award recognises those iconic artists who have contributed the songs which endure and which we still listen to and love today

    Previous winners:

    2010: Roy Wood
    2009: Paul Rodgers
    2008: Peter Green
    2007: Francis Rossi & Rick Parfitt
    2006: Queen
    2005: Ian Hunter

  • Classic Album Classic Album

    Recognising those albums which have changed the world - only a very select few albums are considered for this award

    Previous winners:

    2011: The Who - Quadrophenia
    2010: Cheap Trick - Live At Budokan
    2009: Aerosmith - Rocks
    2008: Cream - Disraeli Gears
    2007: Meat Loaf - Bat Out Of Hell
    2006: Def Leppard - Hysteria
    2005: Deep Purple - In Rock

  • Spirit Of Prog Spirit Of Prog

    This award recognises those artists who have helped keep prog alive for a modern audience.

    Previous winners:

    2011: Jethro Tull
    2010: Rick Wakeman
    2009: Dream Theater

  • The Blues Award The Blues Award

    New for 2012, this award will honour artists who strive to keep the purity of blues alive.

  • Outstanding Contribution Outstanding Contribution

    Only those who have left an indelible mark on the world of rock get to pick up the Outstanding Contribution.

    Previous winners:

    2011: Bob Ezrin
    2010: John Paul Jones
    2009: Ronnie Wood
    2008: Jeff Beck
    2007: Storm Thorgerson

  • Tommy Vance Inspiration Tommy Vance Inspiration

    Like Tommy, this award recognises the true visionaries of rock - the musicians who broke the rules and changed things for the better.

    Previous winners:

    2011: Steve Marriott
    2010: Ronnie James Dio
    2009: John Bonham
    2008: Syd Barrett
    2007: Mick Ronson
    2006: Phil Lynott
    2005: Tommy Vance

  • VIP Award VIP Award

    This recognises the contributions of those people behind the scenes in the music biz - from managers to promoters to photographers

    Previous winners:

    2011: Baron Wolman
    2010: John Jackson
    2009: Doc McGhee
    2008: Harvey Goldsmith
    2006: Rod Smallwood
    2005: Neil Warnock

  • Childline Award Childline Award

    This award honours those people who have worked tirelessly to raise money for the superb Childline Rocks charity

    Previous winners:

    2010: Glenn Hughes
    2009: Steve Harley
    2008: Bryan Adams
    2007: Ian and Jacky Paice

  • Musicians' Union Maestro Musicians' Union Maestro

    Classic Rock magazine teamed up with the Musicians' Union to have the players themselves honour one of their own. The members of the Musicians' Union were invited to cast their vote for a shortlist of five - all of whom have made an extraordinary contribution to the world of rock.