Now Playing

Bryan Adams - The Only Thing That Looks Good On Me Is You

ZZ Top’s Billy F Gibbons announces album signing and live Q&A

Billy F Gibbons © Andrew Stuart

Voluminously bearded rock legend Billy F Gibbons has announced an album signing and live Q&A later this month.

The ZZ Top singer and guitarist will take part in a live Q&A session with fans at HMV on Oxford Street, London at 6pm prompt on Tuesday 25th September.

After answering questions, Billy will then be signing copies of his second solo album ‘The Big Bad Blues’, which is released on Friday 21st September via Snakefarm Records on CD and a ltd edition red vinyl that’s available exclusively at HMV.

Access to this event will be restricted to customers who order the ‘The Big Bad Blues’ + event entry bundles. You can find out more information right here.

Having previously unveiled his cover of ‘Rollin and Tumblin’, Billy has today premiered the lyric video for his version of Muddy Waters’ ‘Standing Around Crying’, which you can cast your eyes and ears on below.

Both songs appear on ‘The Big Bad Blues’, which features six original tracks and further cover versions of tracks by Bo Diddley, Jerome Green and Gilly Stillwater.

Co-produced by Billy and Joe Hardy and recorded at Foam Box Recordings in Houston, Billy performed guitar, harmonica and vocals on the album.

He was also flanked by a stellar line-up of musicians including Joe Hardy on bass, Matt Sorum (Guns N’ Roses/Velvet Revolver/The Cult) and Nashville session great Greg Morrow on drums, Mike ‘The Drifter’ Flanigin on keyboards and James Harmon on additional harmonica.

“We successfully made our way through those uncharted waters with the Cubano flavour of ‘Perfectamundo’ and completed the journey,” says the ZZ Top star in distinguishing ‘The Big Bad Blues’ from its 2015 predecessor.

“The shift back to the blues is a natural. It’s something which our followers can enjoy with the satisfaction of experiencing the roots tradition and, at the same time, feeling the richness of stretching the art form.”

Reflecting on his love for the blues, he said: “There’s something very primordial within the art form. Nobody gets away from the infectious allure of those straight-ahead licks!”

‘The Big Bad Blues’ track-listing is as follows:

1. Missin’ Yo’ Kissin’ (Gilly Stillwater)
2. My Baby She Rocks
3. Second Line
4. Standing Around Crying (Muddy Waters)
5. Let the Left Hand Know…
6. Bring It to Jerome (Jerome Green)
7. That’s What She Said
8. Mo’ Slower Blues
9. Hollywood 151
10. Rollin’ and Tumblin’ (Muddy Waters)
11. Crackin’ Up (Bo Diddley)

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.