Now Playing

Reef - Naked

Yes, Pearl Jam, Journey & ELO to be inducted into Rock & Roll Hall of Fame

© Getty Images / PA Images

The six 2017 inductees for the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame have been unveiled this morning.

Set to be immortalised are Yes, Pearl Jam, Journey, Electric Light Orchestra, Joan Baez and rapper Tupac Shakur. Additionally, funk icon Nile Rodgers will receive a separate gong called the Award for Musical Excellence.

All the artists will be inducted at the 32nd Annual Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Ceremony on Friday 7th April 2017 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York.

Acts that made the long list but missed out on the final cut include The Cars, Depeche Mode, Jane’s Addiction, MC5, Steppenwolf and The Zombies.

Enthusing about Yes’s inclusion, which will occur one year shy of their 50th anniversary, guitarist Steve Howe said: “What an honour this is for us and all involved with the history of this band.

“We thank all the Yes fans who have been so passionate over the decades, and helped us to keep the flag flying. It is the fans who have constantly demanded our inclusion. They have been heard.”

Alongside Steve, Yes will be represented by Jon Anderson, Bill Bruford, Alan White, Tony Kaye, Rick Wakeman, Trevor Rabin and the late Chris Squire.

Electric Light Orchestra lynchpin Jeff Lynne is joined by Roy Wood, Bev Bevan and Richard Tandy for their induction.

Jeff Lynne says: "I am deeply honoured to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and would like to thank all the great fans who have supported us over the years."

Artists are eligible for the prestigious honour 25 years after the release of their first studio album and Pearl Jam made the cut at the first time of asking - debut ‘Ten’ was released in 1991.

Of Pearl Jam’s five drummers from over the decades, only current drummer Matt Cameron and founding member Dave Krusen will be honoured.

Meanwhile, Journey guitarist Neal Schon said: "I kind of feel like we were already in with our fans and the amount of records we've sold all over the world.

“I wasn't expecting anything at all. I've learned to be that way. If you don't expect something and it comes, then its good news. I'm honoured. I think we're all honoured."

The 2017 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Performer Inductees were chosen by more than 900 voters, as well as the aggregate results of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame’s online fan vote.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation was established by Atlantic Records founder Ahmet Ertegun on 20th April 1983 to honour artists who helped shape the history of rock n’ roll.

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.