Now Playing

Van Halen - Unchained

Whitesnake detail 13th album 'Flesh & Blood' and premiere 'Shut Up & Kiss Me' video

Whitesnake will release their 13th studio album ‘Flesh & Blood’ on Friday 10th May via Frontiers Music Srl.

Described by Whitesnake as “all killer, no filler”, ‘Flesh & Blood’ features 13 new songs and it’s produced by guitarists Reb Beach and Joel Hoekstra alongside Michael McIntyre (no, not that one) with David Coverdale on Executive Producer duties.

The band’s first album of original material since 2011’s ‘Forevermore’ is available to buy in the following formats:

- CD (Jewel Case)
- CD+DVD Deluxe Edition (Digipak) – Includes two studio bonus tracks on CD. DVD includes “Shut Up & Kiss Me” (classic jag version) (VIDEOCLIP), “Shut Up & Kiss Me” (club mix version) (VIDEOCLIP), Behind the Scenes of ‘Flesh & Blood’ VIDEO + 3 DVD Audio Tracks (Remixes of album tracks)
- Super Luxury Box Set – Includes CD+DVD Deluxe Edition, 2xLP Standard Colour LP, Poster, Numbered Lithograph, Box Set
- 2xLP – Black, 180g, Gatefold (Worldwide)
- 2xLP – Gold, 180g, Gatefold (Whitesnake UK Store Exclusive) – Limited to 500 Copies

Coinciding with the album announcement, Whitesnake have also premiered the video for the album’s lead single ‘Shut Up Kiss Me’.

David Coverdale said of the video: “After the intense darkness of our last video BURN If anything, it’s ‘light’ snake, you know? We’ve got some really dark energy going on in the world right now, so we’re gonna write & record a fun, knees up, song about falling in love with a fabulous babe. You’re over-talking, over-compensating & she just looks at you, takes the reins & says, 'Shut Up and Kiss Me!' and that’s it!!

“My video director and creative partner Tyler Bourns and I discussed a great storyline for the video, which involves a surprise guest: my fabulous old white Jaguar. We ended up cleaning and detailing it, as it has been in storage since I moved to Lake Tahoe, then we dusted off my old turquoise silk jacket from the original ‘Here I Go Again’ video and I was thinking, ‘man, this is going to be fun!’ It’s a respectful acknowledgment and positive nod to the past, just fun stuff.”

Alongside band lynchpin David Coverdale, the current incarnation of Whitesnake features Reb Beach and Joel Hoekstra on guitar, Michael Devin on bass, Tommy Aldridge on drums, and Michele Luppi on keyboards.

The 'Flesh & Blood' track-listing is as follows: 

CD / 2xLP:
1. Good To See You Again
2. Gonna Be Alright
3. Shut Up & Kiss Me
4. Hey You (You Make Me Rock)
5. Always & Forever
6. When I Think Of You (Colour Me Blue)
7. Trouble Is Your Middle Name
8. Flesh & Blood
9. Well I Never
10. Heart Of Stone
11. Get Up
12. After All
13. Sands Of Time
Bonus Tracks Appearing on CD+DVD Deluxe Edition and Digital Version:
14. Can’t Do Right For Doing Wrong (Bonus Track - New Studio Song)
15. If I Can’t Have You (Bonus Track - New Studio Song)
16. Gonna Be Alright (X-Tendo Mix) - DVD Audio Track
17. Sands Of Time (Radio Mix) - DVD Audio Track
18. Shut Up And Kiss Me (Video Mix) - DVD Audio Track

Hear the greatest rock of all time on Planet Rock. Listen on DAB radio, online, via your smart speaker (“play Planet Rock”) and on Sky channel 0110. You can also download our free Planet Rock app:

Download the Planet Rock app for iOS
Download the Planet Rock app for Android

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.