Now Playing

Eddie Money - Shakin'

Watch: Status Quo premiere 'Backbone' video

Status Quo in 2019

Status Quo have premiered the official video for their new single ‘Backbone’, lifted from their first studio album without the late-great Rick Parfitt.

‘Backbone’ had its exclusive first play on Paul Anthony’s breakfast show this morning, and the accompanying video melds the song’s lyrics with onstage and behind-the-scenes footage of Status Quo.

Watch the video here:

‘Backbone’ is the first taster of Status Quo’s 33rd studio album of the same name, which is released on  Friday 6th September 2019 via earMUSIC / Edel.

Three of the songs on ‘Backbone’ were penned by the classic song-writing partnership of Francis Rossi and Bob Young, with the other members of Status Quo chipping in on the other eight tracks.

Francis Rossi explained that with the untimely passing of Rick Parfitt in December 2016, the album had to be great otherwise it wouldn’t have seen the light of day.  

“This new material had to be seriously good,” Francis said. “Quo have achieved so much and meant so much to too many people for the quality to slip now. Also, let’s face it, things have changed and we’re an easier target than ever.

“Losing Rick was hard to bear but, through Richie Malone, who was inspired to pick up a guitar by him, we can not only keep going but actually pick up the pace.

“The energy that he and Leon (Cave, drums) bring to Quo can’t be underestimated. I wasn’t sure I had another album in me but I couldn’t be more proud of ‘Backbone’. I hope the fans love it, but you can’t please everyone and I’m not going to start trying to now”.

Available to pre-order right here, ‘Backbone’ is released on the following formats:

- Ltd. 1CD Digipak (including 2 bonus songs)
- 1CD Jewelcase (11 songs)
- 1LP+Download [Gatefold ] (LP: 11 Songs / DWL Card: 13 Songs (incl. 2 bonus songs)
- Limited Edition Box Set (1CD Digipak, Live-Bonus CD recorded during Status’ Quo’s ‘The Last Night Of The Electrics’ tour, Status Quo Collector’s T-Shirt)

The album artwork and track-listing is as follows:
1. Waiting For A Woman
2. Cut Me Some Slack
3. Liberty Lane
4. See You’re in Some Trouble
5. Backing Off
6. Wanna Run Away With You
7. Backbone
8. Better Take Care
9. Falling Off The World
10. Get Out Of My Head
11. Running Out Of Time

Status Quo were special guests on Lynyrd Skynyrd's farewell UK tour last month, which took in shows in Glasgow, Manchester, London and Birmingham. 

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.