Now Playing

The Cult - Wild Hearted Son

WATCH: Shinedown announce new album ‘Attention Attention’ & unleash ‘Devil’ video

Shinedown have unveiled full details of their eagerly-anticipated sixth studio album ‘Attention Attention’.

Boasting 14 new songs, the follow-up to 2015’s ‘Threat to Survival’ is unleashed to the world on Friday 4th May 2018 via Atlantic Records.

The concept album is described as Shinedown’s ‘most raw and personal work yet’, and, in keeping with this, aptly-monikered bass player Eric Bass produced and mixed the entire record without any external input.

Having received its UK premiere on Wyatt’s show this afternoon, the Jacksonville rockers have premiered the visually striking, Bill Yukich directed video for monumental lead single ‘Devil’. Feast your eyes on it here:

According to a statement released by the band, ‘Attention Attenion’ is ‘a mental, emotional and physical journey that follows an individual from life’s lowest lows to the highest highs, as anxieties dissipate and demons disappear.’

It continues: ‘Album opener and lead single Devil sets the stage for what’s to come. The story that unfolds as the album progresses is a powerful statement about the resolve of the human spirit, our will to overcome struggles and the importance of respecting and leaning on one another. 

‘On Kill Your Conscience, a snarling refrain is instigated by the pitfalls of social media.  Elsewhere, Get Up is an encouraging lyrical ode set to piano that speaks to struggles with depression. The energized distortion of The Human Radio is a rousing call to action to keep fighting together for survival and truth.  Album closer Brilliant packs a punch as fears finally evaporate and strength returns.’

Available to pre-order now on various formats, Shinedown’s official webstore offers a smorgasbord of packages including a limited transparent yellow double vinyl, a 3’ x 5’ flag and exclusive Attention Attention and Devil t-shirts. The first 500 Ultimate Vinyl and first 500 Ultimate CD bundle purchasers will receive a signed copy of the album.

Shinedown are touring the US this month and come to the UK for a coveted Main Stage slot at Download Festival on Sunday 10th June. Tickets are on sale from Planet Rock Tickets now.

The ‘Attention Attention’ track-listing is as follows:

1. The Entrance
2. Devil
3. Black Soul
4. Attention Attention
5. Kill Your Conscience
6. Pyro
7. Monsters
8. Darkside
9. Creatures
10. Evolve
11. Get Up
12. Special
13. The Human Radio
14. Brilliant

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.