Now Playing

Thunder - In A Broken Dream

WATCH: Judas Priest unleash ‘Lightning Strike’ video

After ‘Lightning Strike’ received its first play on Paul Anthony’s show last Friday, Judas Priest have now unleashed the fiery video.

A scorching return to the fray, ‘Lightning Strike’ is an instantly infectious, pummelling heavy metal anthem of the highest calibre that nods towards Judas Priest’s influential eighties sounds yet has a modern twist. 

The accompanying promotional video captures Judas Priest in their high-octane live element with plenty of pyrotechnics and lightning bolts thrown in for good measure. Feast your eyes on it here:

‘Lightning Strike’ is the first tantalising taster of Judas Priest’s 18th studio album ‘Firepower’, which sees the light of day on Friday 9th March 2018.

Produced by Tom Allom and Andy Sneap, the album boasts 14 tracks penned by Glenn Tipton, Rob Halford & Richie Faulkner.

In a 2017 interview with, singer Rob Halford described ‘Firepower’ as among some of Judas Priest’s “best work.”

"It's great. This is what Priest lives for,” Rob enthused. “We're a hard-working metal band still making the metal forty-odd years later, thanks to our glorious metal fans around the world.

"So we make music now, obviously, still for our own pleasure and enjoyment, and the challenge of finding a new riff and a new melody is always very… It's a great feeling.”

Rob also praised guitarist Richie Faulkner for his input on the long-player, adding: “We came off the Redeemer Of Souls tour, had a break and then we dove straight back into the second record with Richie. And it's Richie's moment, really, because when we did Redeemer Of Souls, it was his first time with Priest as a writer.

“I think it was great how Richie coming into the band and then going through the writing experience and the world tour together really put him in a better place for when we went in to do Firepower.

 “Richie's playing is f***king unbelievable on this album. I think, as the writing team of Richie, Glenn Tipton and myself, this is some of our best work without a doubt.”

The ‘Firepower’ track-listing is as follows:

1. Firepower
2. Lightning Strike
3. Evil Never Dies
4. Never the Heroes
5. Necromancer
6. Children of the Sun
7. Guardians
8. Rising from Ruins
9. Flame Thrower
10. Spectre
11. Traitors Gate
12. No Surrender
13. Lone Wolf
14. Sea of Red

Judas Priest headline Bloodstock Open Air Festival on Friday 10th August 2018. Tickets are on sale from Planet Rock Tickets now.

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.