Now Playing

Buddy Guy - Whiskey Beer And Wine

WATCH: Angus Young salutes Cliff Williams at his last ever AC/DC show

Hours after he announced his retirement from AC/DC, Cliff Williams took to the stage at the Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia last night to play his last ever show.

The band tore through a triumphant 25-song set packed with classics from their unparalleled musical arsenal and, understandably, the standout moment came during set closer ‘For Those About to Rock (We Salute You)’.

During the closing moments of the track Angus ran to the back of the stage put his arm around Cliff and pulled him to the front of the stage.

Cliff rightfully lapped up the voluminous cheers from the 20,000 strong crowd. You can watch the final song here:

In an emotional video posted last night, Cliff confirmed that after a 39-year tenure with the rock Gods it was now the right time to go.

“It’s time for me to step out, and that’s all,” Cliff said. “Not because we’ve lost Mal, Phil or Brian. I mean, everything changes when something happens like that.

“When Bon died, it changed then. You know, everything changes, so it’s not that. It’s just … I’m just ready to get off the road, really, and do what I do.

“In between tours, we take a few years off, so I know how to do that, I know what I’m gonna do. Again, it’s just my time. I’m happy. I just need to … Family time now, just chill out and not do this.”

The full setlist in Philadelphia was as follows:

1. Rock Or Bust
2. Shoot To Thrill
3. Hell Ain't A Bad Place To Be
4. Back In Black
5. Got Some Rock & Roll Thunder
6. Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap
7. Rock 'N' Roll Damnation
8. Thunderstruck
9. High Voltage
10. Rock 'N' Roll Train
11. Hells Bells
12. Given The Dog A Bone
13. If You Want Blood (You've Got It)
14. Live Wire
15. Sin City
16. You Shook Me All Night Long
17. Shot Down In Flames
18. Have A Drink On Me
19. T.N.T.
20. Whole Lotta Rosie
21. Let There Be Rock

22. Highway To Hell
23. Riff Raff
24. Problem Child
25. For Those About To Rock (We Salute You)

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.