Now Playing

Thin Lizzy - Emerald

Townshend To Receive Les Paul Award

The Who guitarist is to be given the prestigious award in LA next January

Hennemusic reports that Townshend will be honoured with the Les Paul Award at the 28th Annual Technical Excellence & Creativity Awards, to be held Friday, 25 January, at the Anaheim Hilton during the 2013 NAMM Show.

Russ Paul, son of Les, will present Townshend with the award on behalf of the Les Paul Foundation. Past recipients include Paul McCartney, Brian Wilson, Stevie Wonder, Neil Young, Bruce Springsteen, Sting, Al Kooper along with a handful of other musical legends since the award was instituted in 1991. 

"Following in Les’ footsteps, Pete Townshend personifies both guitar wizardry and technical prowess in both studio and live music performance,” said Michael Braunstein, Executive Director of the Les Paul Foundation. "He is a true original and a natural choice for the Les Paul Award honor.”

Townshend releases his long awaited memoir Who I Am on 11 October.

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.