Now Playing

Love/Hate - Evil Twin

The Magpie Salute announce new album and premiere lead single 'In Here'

The Magpie Salute will release their new studio album ‘High Water II’ on Friday 18th October via Provogue.

Available to buy on limited-edition 180g 2LP Brown vinyl, 2LP 180g Black vinyl, CD and digital formats, the 12-track album is the follow-up to August 2018’s ‘High Water I’.

As a taster for the record, the band have premiered the lyric video for lead single ‘In Here’, which you can watch here:

As the title suggests, ‘High Water II’ is a continuation of its acclaimed predecessor and most of the album was written during the early recording sessions at Dark Horse Studios in Nashville.

“Both records are part of a collective journey,” says guitarist and band founder Rich Robinson. “I chose the sequence specifically for each record. I wanted ‘High Water l’ to introduce us to the world and the world to us. With ‘High Water ll,’ I wanted to get a little deeper. To take people places they may not have expected to go.”

At the end of their 2018 European Tour, which included a headline slot at Planet Rockstock, Robinson had written three further songs called ‘Gimme Something’, ‘Leave It All Behind’ and ‘Life Is A Landslide’ for the album.

It was during this tour they hit the world-famous Rockfield Studios in Monmouth, Wales to continue work on ‘High Water II’.

The album also features a guest spot from country singer Alison Krauss, who, of course, collaborated with Robert Plant on the Grammy Award winning album ‘Raising Sand’ in 2007. Krauss sings and plays fiddle on the track ‘Lost Boy’.

The brainchild of Rich Robinson, The Magpie Salute features his former Black Crowes band mates Marc Ford (guitars) and Sven Pipien (bass) together with John Hogg (vocals), Matt Slocum (keyboards) and Joe Magistro (drums).

The ‘High Water II’ track-listing is as follows:

1. Sooner Or Later
2. Gimme Something
3. Leave It All Behind
4. In Here
5. You And I
6. Mother Storm
7. A Mirror
8. Lost Boy
9. Turn It Around
10. Life Is A Landslide
11. Doesn't Really Matter
12. Where Is The Place

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.