Now Playing

Misfits - Monster Mash

The Darkness unveil new album ‘Pinewood Smile’ and premiere profound lead song

The Darkness © Simon Emmett

Lowestoft glam rock treasures The Darkness have announced details of their fifth studio album.

The 10-track follow-up to 2015’s ‘Last of Our Kind’ is called ‘Pinewood Smile’ and it’s due for release on Friday 6th October via Cooking Vinyl on CD, limited edition Deluxe CD (featuring four bonus tracks), Gatefold Heavyweight Vinyl, Cassette and both Standard and Deluxe digital versions.

As a tantalising taster of record, the band have premiered the opening song, the hard rocking ‘All The Pretty Girls’, which, lyrically, deals with the ethical dilemmas that come with getting a lot of attention from the opposite sex.  

The incredibly profound lyrics read: “All the pretty girls, like me for who I am / All the pretty girls, when the record goes platinum / Plenty of action, massive attraction, when you’re selling out stadiums / All the pretty girls… and their mums”.

Fans who pre-order the album will receive 'All The Pretty Girls' as an instant free download. Have a listen to it here:

Reflecting upon why people should embrace The Darkness and ‘Pinewood Smile’ in these politically volatile times, the ever-eloquent Justin Hawkins decreed: “Why should anybody care? Because if you don't, we're f--ked!!

“History will remember us as the apathetic generation who negligently ushered in a dreadful dystopian age that may or may not come to be known as ‘The Rise of the Arseclowns’.

“We cannot allow this to continue! You may not give a s--- about Brexit or Trump, but PLEASE... give a s--- about The Darkness otherwise the last bastion of cultural sensibility will fall and our airwaves will be polluted by meaningless pop purveyed by a---holes and morons... Oh wait!”

‘Pinewood Smile’ was written in Putney, South-west London and recorded in Cornwall with Grammy Award-winning producer Adrian Bushby (Foo Fighters, Muse).

Drummer Rufus Tiger Taylor, son of Queen’s Roger Taylor, who joined The Darkness in May 2015, shares vocals with Justin on two of the album tracks.

The track-listing is as follows:

1. All The Pretty Girls
2. Buccaneers Of Hispaniola
3. Solid Gold
4. Southern Trains
5. Why Don’t The Beautiful Cry?
6. Japanese Prisoner Of Love
7. Lay Down With Me, Barbara
8. I Wish I Was In Heaven
9. Happiness
10. Stampede Of Love

Following the record’s release, The Darkness will be bringing their ever-flamboyant live show to 17 venues across the length and breadth of the UK. Tickets to all shows are on sale from Planet Rock Tickets now.

Southampton O2 Guildhall – 23rd
Manchester Academy – 24th
Blackburn King Georges Hall – 25th
Leeds O2 Academy – 27th
Newcastle O2 Academy – 28th
Glasgow O2 Academy – 29th

Stoke on Trent Victoria Hall – 1st
Nottingham Rock City – 2nd
Norwich UEA – 3rd
Guildford G Live – 5th
Margate Winter Gardens – 6th
Southend Cliffs Pavilion – 7th
Birmingham O2 Academy – 9th
London Eventim Apollo -10th
Brighton Dome – 11th
Cardiff St David’s Hall – 13th
Bristol Colston Hall – 14th

>> Click here to buy The Darkness tickets <<

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.