Now Playing

Led Zeppelin - Babe I'm Gonna Leave You

Surviving Motörhead members to play special Lemmy tribute concerts

Phil Campbell has confirmed the surviving members of Motörhead are planning to regroup for a handful of Lemmy tribute shows.

The Welsh rocker, who is on the promotional rounds for Phil Campbell & The Bastard Sons’ debut album ‘The Age of Absurdity’, says there will be “select” global shows in honour of Lemmy with guest performers taking on vocal duties.

"It's on the cards, but it's just gonna be a few select shows," the guitarist told Rock Talk with Mitch Lafon. "We're not gonna be touring with it. We're gonna get these people involved and (we have to take into account) their schedules as well.

“We'll just do some special shows worldwide, which will be good - a tribute to Lem and to the band maybe, yeah. But it wouldn't be an ongoing thing; everyone's too busy. But (we want to) do something special. We're still trying to work on that now."

Phil Campbell and Lemmy © Getty Images

Speaking to Billboard last September, former Motörhead drummer Mikkey Dee said he’d be up for some Lemmy tribute shows with “the right formation and right timing.”

“What I have said since Lemmy’s passing is, ‘Of course.’ There is a possibility of doing (some tribute shows) when the time is right to do it.

“If you love New York pizza and you haven’t had any New York pizza in several years, you’re going to crave that. One day there is maybe going to be a craving for something like this and when there is a craving for it, we have to do it in a proper way.”

He explained that doing it the “proper way” entails putting “some really right people together and do some exclusive shows and honour Lem and honour Motörhead and play two-and-a-half hours of f---ing classic Motörhead tracks, s--- that we’ve never even played when we were around. But only with the right formation and right timing.

“To do it too soon, then it would be a disaster. But I am totally open to doing something and when there is the right opportunity to do this, I am all for it and I am going to do my damnedest to put something really, really great together.”

Boasting the songs ‘Welcome To Hell’ and ‘Ringleader’, Phil Campbell and The Bastard Sons’ debut album 'The Age Of Absurdity' is released on Friday 26th January via Nuclear Blast.

It was recorded at Rockfield Studios and Longwave Studios in Wales and produced, engineered, and mixed by Romesh Dodangoda.

‘The Age of Absurdity’ track-listing is as follows:

1. Ringleader
2. Freak Show
3. Skin And Bones
4. Gypsy Kiss
5. Welcome To Hell
6. Dark Days
7. Dropping The Needle
8. Step Into The Fire
9. Get On Your Knees
10. High Rule
11. Into The Dark
12. Silver Machine (Hawkwind cover)


More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.