Now Playing

The Sweet - Set Me Free - Je

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 2019 inductees revealed

Def Leppard and Planet Rock's Joe Elliott © REX/Shutterstock

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has today unveiled the seven acts making up the Class of 2019.

First time nominees Def Leppard will be inducted at Brooklyn’s Barclays Center on Friday 29th March alongside four further British bands; Radiohead, Roxy Music, The Cure and The Zombies.

Having already been inducted with Fleetwood Mac, Stevie Nicks gets a nod as a solo artist with Janet Jackson completing the Class of 2019.

Enthusing about Def Leppard’s induction, Planet Rock’s very own Joe Elliott said: “First of all, a massive thanks to all our fans & past inductees who voted for us. Congratulations to all our fellow inductees, we stand alongside some amazing artists, past & present. What an absolute honour.”

Vivian Campbell says: “Coming into Def Leppard after stints with other bands, it was immediately apparent to me that Leppard had ambition far beyond most. As a fan from the early years, I'd heard that ambitionin the music, blending genres to craft the unique Leppard sound. After 26 years as the new guy, I can assure you that the work ethic and the collective focus of this band is just as strong to this day."

Rick Savage adds: “Being inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame puts Def Leppard in a class of peers that we’ve always appreciated and admired. We’re looking forward to the ceremony.”

Def Leppard also topped the fan’s ballot earlier this week with more than 540,000 votes. Although the fan vote only counts as one extra ballot alongside 1000 others in the voting pool, since it was introduced seven years ago the winner has always gone on to be inducted.

Radiohead said in a short statement: “The band thanks the Hall of Fame voting body and extends congratulations to this year’s fellow inductees.”

The nominees who missed out this year are Rage Against the Machine, Kraftwerk, MC5, Rufus & Chaka Khan, LL Cool J, Devo, Todd Rundgren, and John Prine.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation was established by Atlantic Records founder Ahmet Ertegun on 20th April 1983 to honour artists who helped shape the history of rock n’ roll.

The Class of 2019 are as follows:

Def Leppard
Janet Jackson
Roxy Music
Stevie Nicks
The Cure
The Zombies

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.