Now Playing

Dire Straits - Private Investigations

Queen’s Brian May: ‘Rick Parfitt’s solo album is a great testament to his life and work’

Rick Parfitt and Brian May © PA Images

Brian May has spoken about his involvement in Rick Parfitt’s upcoming posthumous album ‘Over and Out’.

Set for release on Friday 23rd March via earMUSIC, unknown to almost everyone, Rick recorded much of his debut solo album whilst undergoing a period of recuperation after his heart attack in Turkey in June 2016.

Rick had finished all the vocals and guitar parts before he passed away on Christmas Eve 2016, however further musicians were drafted in to complete the record following his death including Queen’s Brian May, Muse bassist Chris Wolstenholme, Rick Parfitt Jnr, John “Rhino” Edwards and Alan Lancaster.

Rick Parfitt © PA Images

Speaking for the first time about performing on the “rocking” album opener ‘Twinkletoes’, Brian May said: “The track has all the wonderful innocence and charm that were Parfitt's hallmarks.

“We're all sad that he was taken away from us too soon -  but this track and this album will be a great testament to his life and work. Parfitt was born to Rock!! Rock on Rick!”

Great friends with the late-great Rick, Brian previously guested on Status Quo’s version of ‘Raining In My Heart’, made famous by Buddy Holly, on the band’s 1996 covers album ‘Don’t Stop’. Status Quo also toured with Queen in 1986.

Also commenting on his involvement on ‘Over and Out’, Muse’s Chris Wolstenholme said of replicating one of Rick’s guitar lines: “Take it from me, it was harder than anyone would imagine. 

“Rick’s strength as a player was his immediately recognisable style; very staccato, like his left hand was constantly bouncing off the strings.  It’s very hard to do, and I’ve never seen anyone else do it quite like him.  But then, there never was anyone quite like Rick.”

Alongside the ‘finished’ version of the album, there will also be a raw and pure version as a bonus disc on the special editions of the album. 

The album track-listing is as follows:

1. Twinkletoes
2. Lonesome Road
3. Over And Out
4. When I Was Fallin In Love
5. Fight For Every Heartbeat
6. Without You
7. Long Distance Love
8. Everybody Knows How To Fly
9. Lock Myself Away
10. Halloween

Listen to the poignant lead song 'Without You' here: 

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.