Now Playing

Killing Joke - Eighties

PRESALE: Black Country Communion announce two UK shows & fourth studio album

Black Country Communion © Neil Zlozower

After teasing some “huge announcements” earlier this month, Black Country Communion have made good on their promise today.

Glenn Hughes, Jason Bonham, Derek Sherinian and Joe Bonamassa will unleash their aptly titled fourth studio album ‘BCC IV’ on Friday 22nd September 2017 and in early 2018 will play two very special headline shows – the only dates they will be playing in the UK and Europe. 

The band will play Wolverhampton Civic Hall on Tuesday 2nd January and London Hammersmith Apollo on Thursday 4th January 2018.

We’ve secured a 48-hour ticket presale to the shows, which kicks off at Planet Rock Tickets at 9am on Wednesday 2nd August. General sale tickets follow on Friday. 

The follow-up to 2013’s acclaimed ‘Afterglow’, just like the band’s first three records, ‘BCC IV’ was produced by “unofficial fifth member” Kevin ‘The Caveman’ Shirley (Led Zeppelin, Iron Maiden, Aerosmith) and recorded at Cave Studios in Los Angeles in December 2016. Additional mixing was done at Cave Studios in Sydney in March 2017.

After BCC disbanded in 2013, it was Joe Bonamassa’s idea last year to contact the band last year and see if they wanted to hit the studio again to lay down some new material.

“I just felt the time was right for Black Country Communion to go back into the studio and write and record a new album,” says Joe Bonamassa. “When I contacted Glenn, Derek and Jason, they immediately agreed to give it shot. The timing was right.”

Glenn Hughes adds: “We had around 4 months to write this album, and I think the results speak for themselves.

“All four of us wanted to make a record that stood up to the first three albums, however, the new album is more of a progression, as we wanted to be careful not to repeat the previous albums.

“A lot has happened since we last recorded the Aferglow album in 2013, so, in many ways, the new album shows BCC with a much harder, riffier and bigger and bolder sound.  If you’re looking for a folk album, this ain’t the one.”

He continues: “I wanted the new album to physically shake your soul. It’s a wake-up call.”

Available to buy on CD, 180 gram vinyl and as a digital download, the ‘BCC IV’ track-listing is as follows:

1. Collide
2. Over My Head
3. The Last Song For My Resting Place
4. Sway
5. The Cove
6. The Crow
7. Wanderlust
8. Love Remains
9. Awake
10. When The Morning Comes

Vinyl only bonus track: 
11. With You I Go

See Black Country Communion at the following shows:

Wolverhampton Civic Hall – Tue 2nd
London Hammersmith Apollo – Thu 4th

>> Click here to buy presale tickets <<

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.