Now Playing

REO Speedwagon - Take It On The Run

Paul McCartney guest performs on new Foo Fighters album

Dave Grohl and Paul McCartney © PA Images

Dave Grohl has confirmed that Sir Paul McCartney is one of the guest performers on Foo Fighters’ new album ‘Concrete & Gold’.

Having previously confirmed that Shawn Stockman from multi-million selling 1990s R&B vocal group Boyz II Men appears on the album title track, Dave has now said that Macca plays drums on one of the tracks.

“Paul McCartney plays drums on one of our songs,” Dave told ET Canada. “He’s a pal. We’ve known him for a long time. He’s the most wonderful person in the world and a great guy.”

A Foo Fighters band member (not specified by ET Canada) added: “(Paul) hadn’t even heard of the song. He comes in and Dave picked up an acoustic and showed him real quick.

“He sat on his special drum set that his tech set up for him. I sat there with a drumstick conducting. He did two takes.”

Back in 2012, Paul McCartney recorded the song ‘Cut Me Some Slack’ with Dave, Krist Novoselic and Pat Smear for the Sound City soundtrack and they later performed live together. 

In an interview with the BBC in June, Dave Grohl confirmed that ‘Concrete and Gold’ also features a guest spot from an unnamed pop megastar.

“There’s one who is probably the biggest pop star in the world and - I’m not kidding - sings backup on one of the heaviest songs on the record, and we're not telling anybody who it is,” Dave said.

The singer confirmed to ET Canada that the pop star in question isn’t Paul McCartney or Shawn Stockman and he’s also ruled the much-rumoured Adele and Taylor Swift out of the equation.

Described by Dave as a “gigantic rock record” and “the biggest sounding Foo Fighters record ever”, ‘Concrete and Gold’ is released on Friday 15th September.

The track-listing is as follows:

1. T-Shirt
2. Run
3. Make It Right
4. The Sky Is A Neighbourhood
5. La Dee Da
6. Dirty Water
7. Arrows
8. Happy Ever After (Zero Hour)
9. Sunday Rain
10. The Line
11. Concrete and Gold (feat. Shawn Stockman)

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.