Now Playing

Lynyrd Skynyrd - Don't Ask Me No Questions

Motörhead's Mikkey Dee calls his & Phil Campbell's Rock Hall omission 'pure wrong'

Mikkey Dee, Lemmy and Phil Campbell

Former Motörhead drummer Mikkey Dee says it’s “pure wrong” he and Phil Campbell haven’t been included in the band’s Rock and Roll Hall of Fame nomination.

The 16 acts on the shortlist for the class of 2020 were announced yesterday with Judas Priest, Thin Lizzy, T.Rex, The Doobie Brothers, Todd Rundgren and Soundgarden also among the artists in the mix.

‘Classic’ Motörhead members Ian “Lemmy” Kilmister, “Fast” Eddie Clarke, and Phil “Philthy Animal” Taylor are the sole people listed in the band’s nomination, with long serving drummer Mikkey Dee and guitarist Phil Campbell omitted.

Phil Campbell joined Motörhead following the departure of Brian Robertson in 1984 and contributed to 16 studio albums from 1986’s ‘Orgasmatron’ to 2015’s swansong ‘Bad Magic’.

Current Scorpions drummer Mikkey Dee replaced Philthy Animal Taylor in 1992 and had a 23-year tenure with the band until Lemmy’s untimely death in 2015.

Reacting to not being included on the ballot for Motörhead, Dee told Billboard: "That is pure wrong, I would say, and I know Phil (Campbell) will be very disappointed, too."

He continued: "We've been carrying the flag for 25 years together, and actually brought Motörhead to what it was. We did 25 years out of the 40. The original band lasted just a few years.

“They started it off, but as Lemmy said himself they wouldn't have lasted another six months doing that line-up. I don't think we would've been where we are today without the 25 years we spent touring."

Asked by Billboard if he would attend the ceremony, Dee replied: "Absolutely. I think that's a must. Phil and me have to attend — and play there, of course. It would be a real honour."

The five inductees will be announced in January and they will be formally inducted at a ceremony at Cleveland’s Public Hall on 2nd May 2020.

Artists can only be nominated for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 25 years after the release of their first studio album.

A voting pool of more than 1,000 artists, historians, journalists and members of the music industry will select the new class, and for the seventh year running fans themselves can have a small say on the inductees - the “fan's ballot" will count as one of the ballots that decide the class of 2020.

Once again, despite being one of biggest and most influential heavy metal bands on the planet, Iron Maiden haven’t been included in the shortlist. Still yet to pick up a nomination, Maiden have been eligible since 2005.

Earlier this year, Def Leppard were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame alongside Radiohead, Roxy Music, The Cure, The Zombies, Stevie Nicks and Janet Jackson.

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.