Now Playing

Montrose - Space Station #5

Motörhead, Judas Priest and Thin Lizzy miss out on Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

The late-great Lemmy © Getty

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has announced that T. Rex, The Doobie Brothers, Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails, The Notorious B.I.G. and Whitney Houston are all being inducted into the class of 2020.

The six artists making the final cut were revealed this afternoon (Wednesday 15th January) and they will be officially inducted at a ceremony at Cleveland’s Public Hall on Saturday 2nd May. 

Of the 2020 inductees, T. Rex, Notorious B.I.G., Whitney Houston and the Doobie Brothers all got into the Rock Hall at the first time of asking. Depeche Mode and Nine Inch Nails have been nominated three times. 

T. Rex's Marc Bolan to be posthumously inducted © PA Images

A voting pool of more than 1,000 artists, historians, journalists and members of the music industry have selected the new class. 

Additionally, for the seventh year running, the fans themselves had a small say on the inductees - the “fan's ballot" counts as one of the 1,000+ ballots that decided the class of 2020.

This year’s fan vote winners Pat Benatar and Dave Matthews band didn’t make the Rock Hall. The seven previous winners of the fan vote were all inducted that year. 

Judas Priest miss out again © Getty

Nominated for a second time this year after previously making the longlist in 2018, Judas Priest have failed to make it into the Rock Hall for a second time. 

Motörhead and Thin Lizzy were both nominated for the first time ever; however, they were snubbed by the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame voting pool. 

Soundgarden, Kraftwerk, MC5, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan and Todd Rundgren were also on the ballot but failed to secure enough votes. 

Artists can only be nominated for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame 25 years after the release of their first studio album.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation was established by Atlantic Records founder Ahmet Ertegun on 20th April 1983 to honour artists who helped shape the history of rock n’ roll.

Last year Def Leppard were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame alongside Radiohead, Roxy Music, The Cure, The Zombies, Stevie Nicks and Janet Jackson.

Making something of a mockery of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, despite being eligible since 2005, Iron Maiden haven’t picked up a solitary nomination.

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.