Now Playing

Stevie Ray Vaughan - Little Wing

Monster Truck detail third album 'True Rockers' and unleash new song 'Evolution'

The mighty Monster Truck have announced full details of their third studio album ‘True Rockers’.

The Canadian band, who triumphed when they headlined Planet Rockstock last December, will release the eagerly-awaited ‘True Rockers’ on Friday 14th September 2018 via Mascot Records.

As a first tantalising taster for the 11-track record, Monster Truck have premiered an anthemic new song called ‘Evolution’, which you can lend your lugholes to right here:

Since the release of 2016’s ‘Sittin’ Pretty’, Monster Truck have played over 150 live shows including support slots with Nickelback, Billy Talent, Deep Purple, Black Stone Cherry, Volbeat, The Temperance Movement, Jane’s Addiction, Rob Zombie and Alter Bridge, and a series of festivals like Download and Ramblin’ Man Fair.

During their extensive tour dates, Monster Truck laid down new material while on the road, sending material through to producer Dan Weller (SiKth, Young Guns, Enter Shikari) as they worked on it.

“When the inspiration strikes, use it, if you’re not gonna use it, you’re wasting it,”explains frontman/bassist Jon ‘Marv’ Harvey. “As soon as you think of something could be a good song, work on it, immediately. Inspiration is so valuable.”

They then returned to Echo Mountain Studios in Asheville, North Carolina in July 2017 to record the album. The striking artwork looks like this: 

Describing ‘True Rockers’ as the sound of a band letting go and having fun, Harvey says: “We want people to listen to it and have fun, have as much fun as possible.” Agreeing, guitarist Jeremy Widerman adds: “I mean right off the beginning of the album you hear me scream at Marv. That just kicks off the entire vibe of the album. Us in a room, having fun, joking and yelling at each other.”

The album boasts a guest spot from ex-Twisted Sister frontman Dee Snider (a man they describe as a “true rocker”) on opener ‘True Rocker’ and elsewhere award winning producers Gavin Brown and Maia Davies were drafted for the songs ‘Evolution’, Young City Hearts’ and ‘Hurricane’.

“We had a chance to work with some hit makers so we took the chance, and what came out is different than anything we have done. Gavin and Maia were fantastic to work with. It added a lot of colour to the record and allowed us the opportunity to take a risk and branch out a little,” explains Harvey.

Elaborating further Widerman adds; “It almost wouldn’t be a Monster Truck record if we didn’t reach the supposed end of the process and then double-back to track a few extra songs in order to strengthen what was already a strong record to us.”

The ‘True Rockers’ track-listing is as follows:

1. True Rocker
2. Thundertruck
3. Evolution
4. Devil Don’t Care
5. Being Cool Is Over
6. Young City Heart
7. Undone
8. In My Own World
9. Denim Danger
10. Hurricane
11. The Howlin’

Monster Truck play the Main Stage at Download Festival on Saturday 10th June ahead of Thunder, Black Stone Cherry, The Temperance Movement and headliners Guns N’ Roses. 

Day and weekend tickets are on sale from Planet Rock Tickets now. 

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.