Now Playing

The Who - Rockin' In Rage

Mikkey Dee open to Lemmy tribute shows featuring Motörhead classics

Former Motörhead drummer Mikkey Dee has spoken about the prospect of playing some exclusive shows in tribute to Lemmy.

Mikkey, who enjoyed a 23-year tenure with Motörhead before joining the Scorpions last year in the wake of Lemmy’s untimely death, says he’d be up for playing some exclusive shows but only with “the right formation and right timing.”

Speaking to Billboard to promote Motörhead’s ‘Under Cöver’ album, Mikkey said: “What I have said since Lemmy’s passing is, ‘Of course.’ There is a possibility of doing that when the time is right to do it.

“If you love New York pizza and you haven’t had any New York pizza in several years, you’re going to crave that. One day there is maybe going to be a craving for something like this and when there is a craving for it, we have to do it in a proper way.”

He explained that doing it the “proper way” entails putting “some really right people together and do some exclusive shows and honour Lem and honour Motörhead and play two-and-a-half hours of f---ing classic Motörhead tracks, s--- that we’ve never even played when we were around. But only with the right formation and right timing.

“To do it too soon, then it would be a disaster. But I am totally open to doing something and when there is the right opportunity to do this, I am all for it and I am going to do my damnedest to put something really, really great together.”

Elsewhere in the interview, Mikkey was asked about whether there is any further Motörhead material that might yet still be released.

“There is some stuff around, but I don’t know exactly what,” Mikkey said. “I know we have a lot of live [material], but there’s nothing in the plans as of now and we haven’t talked about it, but I’m sure there is plenty, both video and audio.”

Featuring covers of tracks by David Bowie, The Rolling Stones, Judas Priest, Ozzy Osbourne, Metallica and more, Motörhead ‘Under Cöver’ is out now.

The track-listing is as follows:

1) Breaking the Law (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2008
2) God Save the Queen (Produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2000
3) Heroes (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2015
4) Starstruck (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2014
5) Cat Scratch Fever (Produced by Peter Solley) 1992
6) Jumpin’ Jack Flash (Produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2001
7) Sympathy for the Devil (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2015
8) Hellraiser (Produced by Billy Sherwood) 1992
9) Rockaway Beach (Mixed by Cameron Webb) 2002
10) Shoot ‘Em Down (Produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2001
11) Whiplash (Produced by Bruce Bouillet and Bob Kulick) 2005


More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.