Now Playing

Supertramp - Take The Long Way Home

Matt Mitchell & The Coldhearts premiere 'Black Diamonds' video

Matt Mitchell © Marcel Grabowski

Matt Mitchell & The Coldhearts have premiered the video for ‘Black Diamonds’ exclusively on Planet Rock.

Played first on The New Rock Show and now playlisted by Planet Rock, ‘Black Diamonds’ is lifted from the self-titled debut album ‘Matt Mitchell & The Coldhearts’, which lands on Friday 19th April.

Former Furyon and Colour Of Noise frontman Matt Mitchell describes the song as being about an “inevitable ending”, explaining: “‘Black Diamonds’ itself is a metaphor for the loss of beauty/light/energy that occurs in the theoretical final stages of some stars life cycle (Black Dwarf).

“There were a lot of changes occurring around the time of the writing and demoing stages of this song. It started out as a song called ‘I hope you find what you’re looking for’ though after a re write session it morphed into the song we now know, being ‘Black Diamonds’.”

Watch the visually striking video here:

Matt Mitchell and his band recorded ‘Matt Mitchell & The Coldhearts’ at Rockfield's Quadrangle studio with esteemed producer Nick Brine (Thunder, Bruce Springsteen, The Darkness) and the record features the very piano that Freddie Mercury used to record 'Bohemian Rhapsody'.

Commenting on the album’s themes, Mitchell says: "I’m aware that sometimes an album is just for the love of rock n roll and I do love that. It’s on my agenda. It could be a song about a car, or thunder and lightning. However, the main stories on this album are all about people. The people that have been part of my life, the people that have loved, cared, nurtured, hurt, inspired, broken, stayed strong, lost themselves, found themselves. Family, friends, honesty, dishonesty, music and the music business, integrity and faith. The songs in this self-titled album are inspired by all these things.”

Alongside the titular singer and guitarist, Matt Mitchell & The Coldhearts are Mauro Laconi (guitars), Dom Ladd (bass), Matt Cherry (drums) and Stevie Watts (keys).

The ‘Matt Mitchell & The Coldhearts’ track-listing is as follows:

1. Black Diamonds 
2. Home 
3. On & On 
4. Dare You To Watch 
5. Kings & Queens
6. Unavailable 
7. Do You Wanna Be My God
8. Old Enough & Ugly Enough
9. Wave Goodbye 
10. Everything To You 
11. Keep Me Safe 
12. Waiting For The Sun

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.