Now Playing

Mountain - Theme From An Imaginary Western

Lynyrd Skynyrd, Yes, ZZ Top, King Crimson stars for William Shatner Christmas album

A number of high-profile rock stars have collaborated with Star Trek legend William Shatner on his new record ‘Shatner Claus – The Christmas Album’.

Set for release on Friday 26th October via Cleopatra Records, Shatner’s upcoming record sees the octogenarian actor cover 14 traditional Yuletide favourites in his idiosyncratic style.

Guesting on the record are former Lynyrd Skynyrd drummer Artimus Pyle on ‘Winter Wonderland’, Yes ft. ARW keyboard wizard Rick Wakeman (‘O Come, O Come Emmanuel’), Jethro Tull’s singer and flautist Ian Anderson (‘Silver Bells’) and ZZ Top legend Billy F. Gibbons (‘Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer’).

Others joining Shatner for the (sleigh) ride are King Crimson woodwind extraordinaire Mel Collins (‘Twas The night Before Christmas’), Iggy Pop (‘Silent Night’) and The Cars guitarist Elliot Easton (‘Run Rudolph Run’).

Previewing the album, Shatner has premiered his cover of ‘Jingle Bells’ featuring Henry Rollins. The pair recorded two versions of the track for the album; a standard cover and punk rock interpretation.

‘Shatner Claus – The Christmas Album’ isn’t the actor’s first collaboration with eminent rock stars.

2011’s space-themed ‘Seeking Major Tom’ boasted contributions from Zakk Wylde, Peter Frampton, Brian May, Steve Howe, John Wetton and Ritchie Blackmore.

Similarly, 2015’s ‘Ponder the Mystery’ featured Steve Vai, Rick Wakeman, Tony Kaye and Mick Jones, and the album was produced by former Yes member Billy Sherwood.

‘Shatner Claus – The Christmas Album’ is Shatner’s first holiday album and seventh studio record in total.

The ‘Shatner Claus – The Christmas Album’ track-listing is as follows:

1. Jingle Bells (featuring Henry Rollins)
2. Blue Christmas (featuring Brad Paisley)
3. Little Drummer Boy (featuring Joe Louis Walker)
4. Winter Wonderland (featuring Todd Rundgren, Artimus Pyle)
5. Twas The Night Before Christmas (featuring Mel Collins)
6. Run Rudolph Run (featuring Elliot Easton)
7. O Come, O Come Emmanuel (featuring Rick Wakeman)
8. Silver Bells (featuring Ian Anderson)
9. One for You, One For Me
10. Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer (featuring Billy Gibbons)
11. Silent Night (featuring Iggy Pop)
12. White Christmas (featuring Judy Collins)
13. Feliz Navidad (featuring Dani Bender)
14. Jingle Bells (featuring Henry Rollins) (Punk Rock Version) (Bonus Track)

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.