Now Playing

Iron Maiden - Aces High

Listen to Steven Tyler & Nuno Bettencourt's cover of The Rolling Stones' 'Brown Sugar'

Steven Tyler and Nuno Bettencourt © REX/Shutterstock

Aerosmith’s Steven Tyler and Extreme’s Nuno Bettencourt have joined forces for a cover of The Rolling Stones’ ‘Brown Sugar’.

The pair’s take on the ‘Sticky Fingers’ classic features on the upcoming compilation album ‘Muscle Shoals… Small Town, Big Sound’ celebrating the 60th anniversary of the Alabama Music Enterprises (FAME) Studios in Muscle Shoals, Alabama.

Featuring a gospel trio, brass and piano courtesy of FAME studio regulars, Steven Tyler says of the cover: “We knew we wanted to respect and pay homage to the original version, but we also dared ourselves to make it our own.”

He continued to Rolling Stone: “I had no idea the vibes I would feel being in those rooms at FAME Studios in Muscle Shoals. So much more than an era was created there. These songs are the soundtrack of people’s lives. A world that could never be lived again.”

Listen to the track here:

Following the death of FAME Studios co-founder Rick Hall in January, his son Rodney Hall started work on a compilation album drafting in an array of stars to re-record songs made at the legendary studios.

Produced and curated by Rodney Hall himself alongside acclaimed producer Keith Stegall, the album is released on Friday 26th September.

Other artists who made the pilgrimage to FAME Studios to feature on the album include Shinedown’s Brent Smith who recorded a version of ‘Mustang Sally’ and Kid Rock who covered ‘Snatching It Back’.

Rodney Hall says of FAME Studios: “The sound is one-of-a-kind. When younger artists hear all of the music that came out of here over the past five decades, they want to check it out. This album is special because it brings together artists that have been inspired by the magic of the Muscle Shoals Sound."

A portion of proceeds from sales of ‘Muscle Shoals… Small Town, Big Sound’ will benefit the Grammy Foundation and the Muscle Shoals Music Foundation.

The track-listing is as follows:

1.  The Road Of Love - Keb’ Mo’
2.  I’d Rather Go Blind - Grace Potter
3.  Brown Sugar - Steven Tyler & Nuno Bettencourt
4.  Gotta Serve Somebody - Jamey Johnson, Willie Nelson, Chris Stapleton & Lee Ann Womack
5.  Steal Away - Eli “Paperboy” Reed
6.  Snatching It Back - Kid Rock
7.  I’ll Take You There - Aloe Blacc
8.  Cry Like A Rainy Day - Michael McDonald
9.  True Love - Vince Gill & Wendy Moten
10. Come And Go Blues - Alison Krauss
11.  Respect Yourself - Mike Farris with The Blind Boys of Alabama
12.  Wild Horses - Alan Jackson
13.  Mustang Sally - Brent Smith of Shinedown
14.  We’ve Got Tonight - Chord Overstreet
15.  Giving It Up For Your Love - Tom Johnston & Delbert McClinton
16.  I Ain’t Easy To Love - Candi Staton with Jason Isbell & John Paul White

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.