Now Playing

Joe Bonamassa - Mountain Climbing

LISTEN: The Magpie Salute premiere new track ‘For The Wind’

The Magpie Salute

The Magpie Salute, featuring former Black Crowes members Rich Robinson, Sven Pipien and Marc Ford, have premiered a new song.

Following in the footsteps of last month’s ‘Bring Me An Omen’, ‘For The Wind’ is the second taster of The Magpie Salute’s debut studio album ‘High Water I’.

Guitarist and band founder Rich Robinson says of the track: “'For The Wind' is a song that took a long way around to come to fruition. I wrote it years ago, and it took the right band to do it justice. Now it has a great home with Magpie.”

Singer John Hogg says of the lyrics: “It's like this person can see that every terrible thing in his world has been reversed, defeated and left behind. It's not hopeful or expectant, it's more than that...a full-on realisation described by one of the victors”

Released on Friday 10th August via Provogue/Mascot Label Group on CD, LP and digital formats, ‘High Water I’ will be followed by a second record – aptly entitled ‘High Water II’ in 2019.

Originally formed as a 10-strong collective, the current trimmed-down incarnation of The Magpie Salute is a six-piece featuring Rich Robinson (guitars) alongside Marc Ford (guitars), Sven Pipien (bass), John Hogg (vocals), Matt Slocum (keyboards) and Joe Magistro (drums).

With Rich on production duties, the sextet recorded ‘High Water I’ at Dark Horse Studios in Nashville.

Rich says of the album: “I want people to realise it’s something different and also a little familiar. I hope they can connect it to the records that defined their lives. Music is there to give us joy, perspective, and show angles we haven’t seen before. I appreciate it more than ever. It’s a gift.”

As part of a five-date acoustic European trek, The Magpie Salute play a completely and utterly sold out show at Oslo in London on album release day (10th August).

The ’High Water I’ track-listing is as follows:

1. Mary The Gypsy
2. High Water
3. Send Me An Omen
4. For The Wind
5. Sister Moon
6. Colour Blind
7. Take It All
8. Walk On Water
9. Hand In Hand
10. You Found Me
11. Can You See
12. Open Up

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.