LISTEN: Richie Sambora and Orianthi stream ‘Masterpiece’ from their new EP

RSO – aka Richie Sambora and Orianthi – have released a new EP called ‘Rise’ today (29th September).

The former Bon Jovi and Alice Cooper guitarists recorded the five-track EP at their home studio and drafted in several guest performers - The Doors' Robby Krieger, Paul McCartney drummer Abe Laboriel Jr and Alice himself.

"I feel like Ori and I are probably misunderstood," Richie says. "I'm seen as the guitar player with Bon Jovi and she's seen as the guitar player with Michael Jackson. That's what our legacy has permitted us. But we're like the best-kept secret that people haven't discovered yet."

As a taster for the EP, RSO are streaming the pop track ‘Masterpiece’, which you can cast your ears on here:

Reflecting upon their home studio, which producer Bob Rock suggested, Richie says: "It was Bob's idea to build a studio at the house. You wake up in the morning and you're coming down the stairs, scratching your ass, and by the time 9:30 rolls around, you've got a song.

"We have an open-door policy. Most of our friends are musicians and they can come hang out whenever they want and maybe play on a song."

Reflecting upon the EP, Richie adds: "I think these songs are about just being human. People have more in common with each other than they think. Ori and I have had the chance to see that up close, in front of millions of people around the world, for many years.

“It's ingrained in us as songwriters, that desire to transcend language and genre, to play for people, entertain them, and write songs that can be the soundtrack to their lives."

The ‘Rise EP’ track-listing is as follows:

1. Rise
2. Masterpiece
3. Truth
4. Take Me
5. Good Times

Richie Sambora and Orianthi © PA Images

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.