Now Playing

Status Quo - Rockin' All Over The World

LISTEN: Kansas premiere live version of ‘Carry On Wayward Son’

Kansas are streaming a live version of the defining anthem ‘Carry On Wayward Son’.

The version of their timeless 1976 rock classic appears on their upcoming live album ‘Leftoverture Live & Beyond’, which is released on Friday 3rd November via InsideOut Music.

The band’s first live album in eight years was produced by Jeff Glixman and features 19 songs recorded at 12 gigs on Kansas’ spring 2017 Leftoverture 40th Anniversary Tour.

Each night, the set list featured classic hits, deep cuts and new songs from 2016’s studio album ‘The Prelude Implicit’. The performance culminated with the band’s sextuple-platinum breakthrough album, ‘Leftoverture’, performed in its unadulterated entirety.

Have a listen to ‘Carry On Wayward Son’ here:

“When we saw how much our fans enjoyed the Leftoverture 40th Anniversary Tour shows, we knew we had to record a live album,” says drummer Phil Ehart. 

“When it came to finding someone to produce it, we thought the best possible person would be the guy that produced ‘Leftoverture’ forty years ago.  So, we called Jeff Glixman!”

Jeff Glixman adds: “I’m really excited with how this live album sounds. This band is on fire. Producing this live album was truly an undertaking, but I am confident that Kansas fans will enjoy the end result.”

Kansas were due to play a handful of European dates this summer, including a coveted headline slot on the Prog In The Park Stage at Ramblin’ Man Fair, but pulled out citing ‘safety and security warnings issued by the United States government.’

Explaining their decision to fans, the band’s said in an official statement: “Kansas regretfully announces the cancellation of its 2017 European Tour. The cancellation is based on safety and security warnings issued by the United States government and various U.S. law enforcement agencies concerning Americans traveling in Europe this summer.

“Kansas is extremely saddened that the band will not be able to perform for its European fans this year.”

‘Leftoverture Live & Beyond’ will be released as a double CD digipak, four 180 Gram Vinyl boxed set, and digitally. The track-listing is as follows:

1. Icarus II
2. Icarus
3. Point of Know Return
4. Paradox
5. Journey from Mariabronn
6. Lamplight Symphony
7. Dust in the Wind
8. Rhythm in the Spirit
9. The Voyage of Eight Eighteen
10. Section 60
11. Carry On Wayward Son
12. The Wall
13. What’s on My Mind
14. Miracles out of Nowhere
15. Opus Insert
16. Questions of My Childhood
17. Cheyenne Anthem
18. Magnum Opus
19. Portrait (He Knew)

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.