Now Playing

The Darkness - Open Fire

Les Paul Tribute To Feature Slash, Keith

The album is a tribute to the guitar pioneer

Les Paul, who passed away in 2009, is to be honoured with a brand new tribute album that has been organised by his longtime friend and rhythm guitarist, Lou Pallo.

Anti Music reports that the CD and DVD, titled Thank You Les, will be released in September. The CD features 21 tracks - many of them Les Paul's personal favourites.

The guest artists include guitarists Keith Richards, Billy F Gibbons, Steve Miller (who also penned the package's liner notes), Jose Feliciano, Slash, Johnny A, Bucky Pizzarelli, Arlen Roth, Nokie Edwards (The Ventures), Frank Vignola, Bob Leive, Tommy Doyle and Jon Paris, as well as singers Eddie Brigati, Jr. (The Young Rascals) Blondie Chaplin (Rolling Stones), Nicki Parrott (Les Paul Trio), Lexie Roth, Melinda Doolittle (finalist on "American Idol" season six) and members of the Les Paul Trio. 

The DVD will feature behind the scenes footage and interviews from the making of the album.

"Even after becoming one of the most influential musicians and inventors of the 20th century, Les Paul always had time for everyone from Tony Bennett to Johnny Rotten and anyone in between," writes Steve Miller in the liner notes. "He never judged you by how you looked or what kind of music you played, but by your character and your commitment to music. It's a tribute to the kind of human being Les was that he was always willing to share his spotlight with any musician brave enough to come forward to say hello."

"So, this album is a tribute to Les Paul, truly one of the most enjoyable and creative musicians to ever live. He was a modest man who always gave more than anyone I've ever known. It's a heartfelt thank you from just a few of his many friends for his wonderful music, inspiration and friendship." 

Here's the tracklist:

1) Avalon – featuring Frank Vignola – guitar; Lou Pallo - guitar
2) Mr. Day/Tell Me What's the Reason – featuring Steve Miller - guitar and vocal;
Lou Pallo - guitar
3) Caravan – featuring Nokie Edwards – guitar; Lou Pallo - guitar
4) Tennessee Waltz – featuring Lou Pallo – guitar; Nicki Parrott - bass and vocals
5) September Song – featuring Billy F Gibbons – guitar; Lou Pallo - guitar
6) It's Been a Long, Long Time – featuring Keith Richards - guitar and vocal; Lou Pallo - guitar and vocal
7) I'm Confessin' That I Love You – featuring Eddie Brigati, Jr. – vocal; Bucky Pizzarelli – guitar; Lou Pallo - guitar
8) Mister Sandman – featuring Arlen Roth – guitar; Lou Pallo - guitar
9) Bésame Mucho – featuring José Feliciano - guitar, vocal, congas, shaker; Lou Pallo - guitar
10) Brazil – featuring Frank Vignola – guitar; Lou Pallo - guitar
11) Vaya Con Dios – featuring Lexie Roth – vocals; Arlen Roth – guitar; Frank Vignola – guitar; Lou Pallo - guitar 
12) Deep in the Blues – featuring Slash – guitar; Lou Pallo - guitar 
13) Nature Boy – featuring Steve Miller – vocal; Lou Pallo - guitar
14) Memories of You – featuring Tommy Doyle – guitar; Lou Pallo - guitar
15) Smile – featuring Blondie Chaplin – vocal; Lou Pallo - guitar 
16) Carioca – featuring Frank Vignola – guitar; Lou Pallo - guitar
17) Just One More Chance – featuring Bucky Pizzarelli – guitar; Lou Pallo - guitar
18) St. Louis Blues – featuring Jon Paris - vocal, slide guitar, harmonica; Lou Pallo - guitar
19) Sweet Georgia Brown – featuring Johnny A – guitar; Lou Pallo - guitar
20) Out of Nowhere – featuring Nokie Edwards – guitar; Lou Pallo - guitar
21) Over the Rainbow – featuring Melinda Doolittle – vocal; Lou Pallo – guitar

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.