Now Playing

Foo Fighters - Everlong

Keith Richards to release 30th anniversary edition of debut solo album 'Talk Is Cheap'

Keith Richards 'Talk Is Cheap'

The Rolling Stones’ Keith Richards has announced a 30th anniversary reissue of his debut solo album ‘Talk Is Cheap’.

Originally released in October 1988, ‘Talk Is Cheap’ will be re-released as a standard edition on CD, digital and vinyl, and a Deluxe and Super Deluxe Box Set on Friday 29th March 2019.

Alongside the 11 songs on the album, the Deluxe and Super Deluxe will boast six bonus tracks - four of which feature pianist Johnnie Johnson - including Eddie Taylor’s ‘Big Town Playboy’, ‘Blues Jam’, ‘Slim’ and the kinetic Jimmy Reed cover ‘My Babe’.

These editions also feature special, exclusive housing and folios, extensive sleeve notes by Anthony De Curtis telling the story” of the album’s production, release and cultural impact, unseen photos and rare memorabilia.

'Talk Is Cheap' Super Deluxe Box Set

Initially reluctant to make a solo album, Keith Richards admits to being “dragged kicking and screaming” into the studio for the early ‘Talk Is Cheap’ recording sessions.

“My central focus had always been that one thing (The Rolling Stones),” Keith explains. “I felt like in the Stones I had the perfect vehicle for what I wanted to do. I couldn’t imagine putting something else together would be equally satisfying.”

Once he had assembled his band the X-Pensive Winos, however, Keith said it started to feel like a band. “Waddy (guitarist Waddy Wachtel) and I are like Ronnie and me,” Keith says. “Within five minutes it’s like you’ve known each other all your lives.”

Reflecting upon the legacy of ‘Talk Is Cheap’, Keith comments: “This album holds up.

“I’ve been listening to it and not through the mists of nostalgia either because it doesn’t affect me that way. This is more than the sum of its parts. I really admire it. We were having fun and you can hear it.”

‘Talk Is Cheap’ Single CD and vinyl full tracklisting:

1. Big Enough
2. Take It So Hard
3. Struggle
4. I Could Have Stood You Up
5. Make No Mistake
6. You Don’t Move Me
7. How I Wish
8. Rockawhile
9. Whip It Up
10. Locked Away
11. It Means A Lot

‘Talk Is Cheap’ Deluxe & Super Deluxe Box Set includes these extra bonus tracks:

1. Blues Jam
2. My Babe
3. Slim
4. Big Town Playboy
5. Mark On Me
6. Brute Force

‘Talk Is Cheap’ Deluxe Box Set also comes with
- 180g LP album &180g LP bonus material
- the 7” Single (Take It So Hard / I Could Have Stood You Up)
- the 7” Single (Make No Mistake / It Means A Lot)
- CD album & CD containing bonus material
- 80-page hardback book featuring Anthony De Curtis essay, new interview with Keith Richards and extensive photos,
- Memorabilia: 1x tour laminate, 2x lyric sheets, original ‘Talk Is Cheap’ playback invite, tour guitar pick and 2x posters
- Housed in a folio pack wrapped in Fender guitar case material

‘Talk Is Cheap’ Super Deluxe box set
- Limited & Numbered
 All content matches the Deluxe Box set
- Comes with added special feature, a one-of-a-kind exclusive casing replicating Keith’s favourite Fender Guitar ‘Micawber’
- Features hand-reliced ash wood with original Fender guitar elements, handmande at the Fender Custom Shop in California

To kick off 2019, we exclusively welcome The World’s Great Rock ’n’ Roll Band to the cover of issue 12 of Planet Rock magazine.

The Rolling Stones always revelled in their reputation as the bad boys of British pop music. As hippy dreams of peace and love gave way to the Vietnam war, political assassinations and riots in the streets in the late 1960s, the Stones stoked the flames of discontent with an unholy trinity of albums chronicling illicit sex, drug abuse, apocalyptic violence and moral decay. Via exclusive interviews with Mick Jagger and Keith Richards we revisit their darkest hours...



More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.