Now Playing

Thunder - In A Broken Dream

Joe Satriani drafts in Glenn Hughes & Chad Smith for 16th solo album ‘What Happens Next’

Joe Satriani © PA Images

Guitar virtuoso Joe Satriani has unveiled details of his 16th solo album ‘What Happens Next’.

Released on Friday 12th January via Sony/Legacy Recordings, the 12-track album sees Joe join musical forces with his Chickenfoot band mate Chad Smith on drums and Glenn Hughes on bass.

Satch united in the studio with acclaimed producer/engineer/mixer Mike Fraser (AC/DC, Van Halen, Aerosmith) having worked with him frequently over the past two decades.  

According to the blurb promoting the record, the album tracks “literally vibrate the soul with an energy rarely found these days."

“From the dynamic opening track, ‘Energy’, to the majestic crunch of ‘Thunder High On The Mountain’, and the easy, sensual cords of ‘Smooth Soul’. This unparalleled rock-rhythm section gives What Happens Next a depth of groove that sets it apart from Joe's other work.”

In addition to the new album Satch has revived his G3 tour entity, inviting Dream Theater's John Petrucci and Def Leppard’s Phil Collen to join him.  

The trio will embark on a US tour in early 2018 kicking off on the eve of the release ‘What Happens Next’ in Seattle and wrapping up on 25th February in Milwaukee.

Since its inception 21 years ago, the G3 concert tours have featured some of the finest guitarists on the planet including Robert Fripp, Michael Schenker, Steve Vai, Eric Johnson and Yngwie Malmsteen. Guest musicians have included Brian May, Billy Gibbons and Neal Schon.

"I could say that I'm surprised at the durability of G3 and how much it's grown, but in a way I'm not," comments Satch.

"I think part of its charm and its mojo is in the chemistry of having three top guitarists share what they do on stage. It's fun, it's unpredictable, it's wild - it's everything you could want in a show."

The full list of G3 tour dates can be found on Satch’s official website.

‘What Happens Next’ track-listing:

1. Energy
2. Catbot
3. Thunder High On The Mountain
4. Cherry Blossoms
5. Righteous
6. Smooth Soul
7. Headrush
8. Looper
9. What Happens Next
10. Super Funky Badass
11. Invisible
12. Forever and Ever

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.