Now Playing

Bad Company - Simple Man

Joe Bonamassa - An Acoustic Evening at the Vienna Opera House

DVD, CD, LP & Blu-Ray to be released on 25th March.

This unique concert was recorded at the historic Vienna Opera House in July 2012 during a very special unplugged tour, played to a limited audience over seven exclusive shows. A far cry from Bonamassa’s predominantly electric blues performances, this presentation was an all-acoustic effort. 

Bonamassa was accompanied onstage by an altogether unorthodox mixture of fellow musicians. This included traditional Irish fiddler Gerry O’Connor, Swedish multi-instrumentalist Mats Wester, American keyboardist Arlan Schierbaum and renowned Puerto Rican percussionist Lenny Castro.

"Originally, when I had the idea of doing an all-acoustic concert, I imagined doing it solo. I’d surround myself with a bunch of guitars, tell the background story of each song, and then play it. Kevin believed the show would be more exciting with a band and he got to work. All of a sudden, we had a five-piece group, and 72 hours to rehearse 20 or so songs.  It was amazing, different than anything I’d ever done before" says Joe. 

You can view a compete track listing below.

Will you guys be buying a copy?

1. Arrival 
2. Palm Trees, Helicopters and Gasoline
3. Jelly Roll
4. Dust Bowl
5. Around The Bend
6. Slow Train
7. Athens To Athens
8. From The Valley
9. The Ballad Of John Henry
10. Dislocated Boy
11. Driving Towards the Daylight
12. High Water Everywhere
13. Jockey Full Of Bourbon
14. Richmond 
15. Stones In My Passway
16. Ball Peen Hammer
17. Black Lung Heartache
18. Mountain Time
19. Woke Up Dreaming
20. Sloe Gin
21. Seagull
22. Goodnight Vienna (Credits)

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.