Now Playing

Meatloaf - Bat Out Of Hell

Joanne Shaw Taylor announces new album 'Reckless Heart'

Joanne Shaw Taylor 'Reckless Heart'

Joanne Shaw Taylor will release her sixth studio album 'Reckless Heart' on Friday 8th February 2019 via her new label home Silvertone / Sony.

Featuring 11 new songs and produced by Al Sutton (Greta Van Fleet/Kid Rock), ‘Reckless Heart’ was recorded over the summer at Rust Belt Studios in Michigan.

Available to pre-order right here, ‘Reckless Heart’ is available to buy on CD, double LP and digital formats. There are also signed CDs, signed vinyls and t-shirts from Joanne’s official online store.  

Joanne says of the record: "I decided for this album I wanted to go further back to my roots. A large part of that was my decision to work with Al Sutton. Al’s been a good friend of mine since I moved to Detroit in 2008 and I’ve always been a big fan of his work with the Detroit Cobras, Thornetta Davis and most recently Greta Van Fleet.

“Working together was something we’d always discussed and in particular that he’d like to hear me do something more raw and live. Therefore, I wrote with that in mind: 15 or so original tracks as well as one song I’d written in Nashville with James House whom I wrote most of Wild with.

“I tried to keep the subject matter as honest as possible. I just wrote about things I’ve been through in the last two years since we recorded Wild, as I always think I perform the best when it’s something I really feel. Then we cut them all live.

“The other main reason for recording in Detroit was the calibre of musicians in that town, and we were lucky enough to score some of the best in Ron Otis, James Simonson, Phil Hale and Chris Codish.

“I couldn’t be happier with it; we managed to incorporate my love of soul, blues and rock into the album and I think it’s probably my most honest work to date. I just hope my fans enjoy listening to it as much as I enjoyed making it".

In support of the record, Joanne will play a series of headline shows in February and March 2019 with the exact dates being unveiled very soon.

Joanne also plays a series of previously announced headline shows this October. Several shows are completely sold out – you can head to Planet Rock Tickets to check ticket availability.

The ‘Reckless Heart’ track-listing is as follows:

1. In The Mood
2. All My Love
3. The Best Thing
4. Bad Love
5. Creepin’
6. I’ve Been Loving You Too Long
7. Reckless Heart
8. Break My Heart Anyway
9. New 89
10. Jake’s Boogie
11. I’m Only Lonely

Joanne’s October shows are as follows:

Whitley Bay Playhouse – Mon 1st
Leeds Brudenell – Tue 2nd - SOLD OUT
Bury St Edmunds Apex – Wed 3rd
Stockton ARC – Fri 5th
Chester Live Room – Sat 6th - SOLD OUT
Bilston Robin – Sun 7th - SOLD OUT
Oxford O2 Academy – Tue 9th
Brighton Concorde – Fri 12th
Northampton Roadmenders – Sat 13th
Harpenden Public Halls – Sun 14th
London Nell's Jazz & Blues - Tue 16th - SOLD OUT

>> Click here to buy tickets <<

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.