Now Playing

Don Henley - Dirty Laundry

Hawkwind to release 32nd album 'All Aboard The Skylark' ahead of UK tour

Hawkwind's Dave Brock © Olly Curtis/Getty

Space rock torchbearers Hawkind have announced details of their 32nd studio album ‘All Aboard The Skylark’.

Featuring nine all-new Hawkwind tracks, ‘All Aboard The Skylark' is released on CD, vinyl and digital formats on Friday 25th 2019 via Cherry Red Records.

The follow-up to last September’s orchestral album ‘The Road To Utopia’, musically ‘All Aboard The Skylark’ picks up from their conceptual Top 40 denting albums ‘The Machine Stops’ (2016) and ‘Into The Woods’ (2017).

Dubbing the album “a storming return to Hawkwind’s space rock roots”, Cherry Red Records say: “Musically the solid quartet of Dave Brock (guitar, vocals, keyboards), Richard Chadwick (drums), Niall Hone (bass, keyboards) and Magnus Martin (guitar, vocals) have created a tight, psychedelic groove that runs through the spine of the album, but embraces each musician’s individual talents along the way.”

Hawkwind - 'All Aboard The Skylark'

Alongside the new material, the CD version of the album comes with an ‘Acoustic Daze’ bonus disc featuring 11 stripped back reinterpretations of classic Hawkwind tracks, including ‘Psy Power’, ‘Down Through The Night’ and ‘We Took The Wrong Step Years Ago.’

‘Acoustic Daze’ is also available as a standalone vinyl release, which is limited to 1,000 copies worldwide. 

The new ‘All Aboard The Skylark' album is part of Hawkwind’s 50th anniversary celebrations that has already featured a headline slot on the Acoustic Stage at Glastonbury and appearances at a host of other UK and European festivals.

Following the release of ‘All Aboard The Skylark’, Hawkwind embark on a lengthy 50th anniversary headline tour throughout November. Tickets are on sale from Planet Rock Tickets now.

The tour dates are as follows:

Brighton Theatre Royal – Sun 10th
York Grand Opera House – Mon 11th
Ipswich Corn Exchange – Tue 12th
Basingstoke Anvil – Wed 13th
Manchester Albert Hall – Fri 15th
Edinburgh The Queens Hall – Sat 16th
Glasgow O2 Academy Glasgow – Sun 17th
Cambridge Corn Exchange – Mon 18th
Bristol Anson Rooms – Tue 19th
Cardiff Tramshed – Wed 20th
Nottingham Rock City – Fri 22nd
Birmingham Town Hall – Sat 23rd
Coventry Empire  – Sun 24th
Guildford G Live – Mon 25th
London Royal Albert Hall – Tue 26th

>> Click here to buy tickets <<

The ‘All Aboard The Skylark’ track-listing is as follows:

1. Flesh Fondue
2. Nets Of Space
3. Last Man On Earth
4. We Are Not Dead…Only Sleeping
5. All Aboard The Skylark
6. 65 Million Years Ago
7. In The Beginning
8. The Road To…
9. The Fantasy of Faldum

‘Acoustic Daze’ track-listing:

1. Psy Power
2. Hymne To The Sun
3. The Watcher
4. Generator Door
5. Micro Man
6. Intro The Night
7. Down Through The Night
8. Flying Doctor
9. Get Yourself Together
10. Ascent Of Man
11. We Took The Wrong Step Years Ago

Hawkwind 'Acoustic Daze'

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.