Now Playing

Misfits - Monster Mash

Foo Fighters album features guest spot from ‘biggest pop star in the world’

© PA Images

Dave Grohl says a track on Foo Fighters' upcoming album ‘Concrete and Gold’ features vocals from an unnamed pop megastar.

Unveiled to the world on Tuesday, Foo Fighters’ ninth studio album ‘Concrete and Gold’ will be released on Friday 15th September and Dave promised it’s a “gigantic rock record.”

Introducing it, Dave said: “I wanted it to be the biggest sounding Foo Fighters record ever. To make a gigantic rock record but with Greg Kurstin’s sense of melody and arrangement… Motörhead’s version of Sgt. Pepper… or something like that."

Now, in an interview with the BBC, Dave confirmed that the record will feature a string of special guests, including “some that will really surprise you.”

“There’s one who is probably the biggest pop star in the world and - I’m not kidding - sings backup on one of the heaviest songs on the record, and we're not telling anybody who it is,” Dave said.

Names bounding around the rumour mill include Adele, Ed Sheeran, Justin Bieber, Taylor Swift and Katy Perry.

Not content with just announcing an album on Tuesday, Foo Fighters also confirmed details of a 50,000 capacity festival they’re hosting called Cal Jam 17.

Also performing at the event are the likes of Queens of the Stone Age, Royal Blood and The Kills, who recently supported Guns N’ Roses at their London Stadium shows.

The ‘Concrete and Gold’ track-listing is as follows:

1. T-Shirt
2. Run
3. Make It Right
4. The Sky Is A Neighbourhood
5. La Dee Da
6. Dirty Water
7. Arrows
8. Happy Ever After (Zero Hour)
9. Sunday Rain
10. The Line
11. Concrete and Gold

Foo Fighters headline Glastonbury Festival on Saturday night (24th June).

Cal Jam 17 lineup

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.