Now Playing

Creedence Clearwater Revival - Born On The Bayou

Eric Clapton announces 'Life In 12 Bars' soundtrack album featuring unreleased songs

Eric Clapton in January 2018 © REX/Shutterstock

Slowhand himself Eric Clapton is releasing an official soundtrack album to accompany his documentary ‘Life In 12 Bars’.

The OST will be released on double CD on Friday 8th June and 4LP on Friday 20th July and features songs spanning Clapton’s legendary career.

The album features numerous Eric Clapton solo tracks together with songs with band he performed in; The Yardbirds, John Mayall's Bluesbreakers, Cream, Blind Faith and Derek and the Dominos.

Additionally, there are also compositions by The Beatles, George Harrison, Aretha Franklin, Muddy Waters and Big Bill Broonzy.

Of the 32 featured songs there are five previously unreleased tracks. First up is a 17-minute live version of Cream’s ‘Spoonful’ recorded in Los Angeles in 1968 during the group's final US, Goodbye tour.

Two unreleased Derek and The Dominos also feature; ‘High’ recorded during the 1971 sessions at Olympic Studios for their unreleased 2nd album, and ‘Little Wing’, a tribute to Jimi Hendrix, recorded live during the Domino's late set at The Fillmore East on October 24th, 1970

Finally, there are two previously unreleased Eric Clapton tracks from 1974; the first ever release of the entire full-length recording of the international hit version of Bob Marley's ‘I Shot The Sheriff’, recorded during the sessions for 461 Ocean Boulevard and a live performance of ‘Little Queenie’, the Chuck Berry rock 'n' roll classic, recorded at Long Beach Arena, California in July 1974 during Clapton's comeback tour to promote 461 Ocean Boulevard.

Alongside the soundtrack album, ‘Life In 12 Bars’ will be released on DVD and Blu-Ray on the same day (Friday 8th June).

Eric Clapton: Life in 12 Bars is billed as ‘an unflinching and deeply personal journey into the life of legendary 18-time Grammy winner.’

Alongside Oscar-winning director Lili Fini Zanuck, the documentary has been produced by the acclaimed John Battsek (Searching For Sugar Man) and edited by BAFTA winner Chris King (Amy, Senna).

Zanuck said of the film: “Eric Clapton’s music is the foundation of our film. His commitment to the blues, its traditions and originators, is absolute from his earliest days.

“He was also forever restless in his search of a suitable vehicle to shape and grow his artistic voice, often bewildering fans and the media with sudden changes in musical direction, bands, songs, guitar style, tone and physical appearance.”

Describing Eric’s personal life as the “spine of the film”, Zanuck added: “It is indeed a melancholic victory lap, full of nostalgic myth, but always musically potent, always looking to the future.

“Despite the fact that his path is strewn with tragedies, addiction and loss, he never fails to regain his bearings and continue to serve what he holds dearest - his music.”

DISC ONE                                                           
1. Big Bill Broonzy: Backwater Blues (4.07) The Big Bill Broonzy Story 1957
2. Muddy Waters: My Life Is Ruined (2.38) Chess single 1953
3. Muddy Waters: I Got Mojo Working (4.28) Live At Newport Jazz Festival 1960
4. The Yardbirds: I Wish You Would (2.19)  studio version
5. The Yardbirds: For Your Love (2.30) For Your Love 1965
6. John Mayall & The Bluesbreakers: Steppin' Out (2.29) John Mayall Bluesbreakers with Eric Clapton 1966
7. John Mayall & The Bluesbreakers: All Your Love (3.37) John Mayall Bluesbreakers with Eric Clapton 1966
8. Cream: I Feel Free (2.57) Fresh Cream 1966 
9. Cream: Strange Brew (2.50) Disraeli Gears 1967
10. Cream: Sunshine of Your Love (4.12) – studio version
11. Aretha Franklin: Good to Me As I Am To You (3.58) Lady Soul / Recorded on December 16 and 17, 1967                      
12. Cream: Crossroads live (4.18) Wheels Of Fire / Recorded 10 March 1968 at Winterland, San Francisco, CA16
13. The Beatles: While My Guitar Gently Weeps (4.45) The Beatles / Recorded 5–6 September 1968
14. Cream: Badge (2.48) Goodbye / Recorded October 1968 at IBC Studios in London    
15. Cream: White Room live (5.41) Live Cream II / recorded October 4, 1968 at the Oakland Coliseum Arena
16. Cream: Spoonful (17.27) live from Goodbye tour – LA Forum October 19, 1968 previously unreleased
17. Blind Faith: Presence Of The Lord (4.52) – studio version                                                                                                                               

DISC TWO                                                         
1. Delaney & Bonnie & Friends featuring Eric Clapton: Comin' Home (7.51) Live at Fairfield Halls 
2. Eric Clapton: After Midnight (3.25) alternate mix from Eric Clapton (first album) 1970
3. Eric Clapton: Let It Rain (5.00) alternate mix from Eric Clapton (first album) 1970
4. Derek and The Dominos: High (3.10) (Olympic Studios, April 1971) Derek and The Dominos album previously unreleased           
5. George Harrison: My Sweet Lord (4.44) All Things Must Pass 1970
6. Derek and The Dominos: Thorn Tree In The Garden (2.55) Layla & Other Assorted Love Songs 1970
7. Derek and The Dominos: Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out (5.01) Layla & Other Assorted Love Songs 1970
8. Derek and The Dominos: Bell Bottom Blues (5.08) Layla & Other Assorted Love Songs 1970
9. Derek and The Dominos: Layla (7.10) Layla & Other Assorted Love Songs 1970
10. Derek and The Dominos: Little Wing (6.11) Live At The Fillmore 1970
11. Derek and The Dominos: Got To Get Better In A Little While (6.05) – studio version
12. Eric Clapton: I Shot The Sheriff (6.54) previously unreleased full length version from 461 Ocean Blvd 1970
13. Eric Clapton: Little Queenie live (6.00) Long Beach Arena, Long Beach, California, July 19/20, 1974 previously unreleased
14. Eric Clapton: Mainline Florida (4.08) 461 Ocean Boulevard 1974
15. Eric Clapton: Tears In Heaven (4.31) - studio version

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.