Now Playing

Broken Witt Rebels - Money

Early Dio Tracks To Be Released

Previously unheard pre-Elf material due in October

Gibson reports that Niji Entertainment will release new album And Before Elf... There Were Elves in a few months and that the album will feature a pile of unreleased material.

And Before Elf... features 12 previously unreleased tracks from 1971, both in the studio and live. The album will feature a lenticular/3D/hologram cover on which, when you turn it, you will see two alternating images: Ronnie from the first Elf LP as well as a vintage group shot from 1971. Longtime Dio engineer Wyn Davis remastered the original tapes.

Elf made three albums before Dio left, in 1975, to co-form Rainbow with Deep Purple's guitarist Ritchie Blackmore. Elf Guitarist David Rock Feinstein (Dio's cousin) would go on to front The Rods.

The tracklisting for And Before Elf... There Were Elves is:

1. You Shook Me
2. Stay with Me
3. Four Day Creep
4. Buckingham Blues
5. Wakeup Sunshine
6. Driftin'
7. Smile for Me Lady
8. You Felt the Same Way
9. Simple Man
10. Drown Me in the River
11. Cold Ramona
12. Little Queenie


More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.