Now Playing

Led Zeppelin - Stairway To Heaven

Devin Townsend Project to release 'Ocean Machine - Live at the Ancient Roman Theatre Plovdiv'

Last September, Devin Townsend Project played a unique show at the Ancient Roman Theatre in Plovdiv, Bulgaria to celebrate the 20th anniversary of ‘Ocean Machine’.

As well as performing their landmark album in its unadulterated entirety at the 2,000-year-old historic setting, the band played a series of fan requested songs accompanied by the Orchestra of Plovdiv State Opera.

Filmed for posterity, the album and concert film will be released on multiple formats on Friday 6th July 2018 under the title: ‘Ocean Machine – Live at the Ancient Roman Theatre Plovdiv’.

Devin Townsend said: “Plovdiv and this live package represents a lot to me, it signifies the end of one era, and the celebration of another. Amidst a gruelling touring year, this show came together with much blood, sweat, and tears, and the result is the culmination of many aspects of my work on one stage.

“Ocean machine was released 20 years ago, and though Marty (drums) is no longer with us, I was able to finally perform the album in its entirety with the original bassist John ‘Squid’ Harder on this night. On a cold evening in an old city in the ancient theatre, many lifelong milestones came to a conclusion on this night and I’m exceptionally proud of it.

“I am currently writing, writing, and writing some more for the next stage of my life and work, and the team of individuals who contributed to this project, from the musicians in the band and orchestra, to the crews locally and with this, management, artists, filmographers and most importantly, the audience... made this night a powerful and strangely bittersweet moment I am proud to have documented with this work.

“This is a very special live recording of a very special night, and I hope you enjoy it as a monument to the things that inspired it all in the first place.”

Available to pre-order right here, ‘Ocean Machine – Live at the Ancient Roman Theatre Plovdiv’ will be available as a limited deluxe 3CD/2DVD/Blu-Ray artbook (with liner notes from Devin and a special documentary dubbed ‘Reflecting The Chaos’ on the second DVD & Blu-Ray), Special Edition 3CD/DVD Digipak, standalone Blu-Ray and as digital audio download.

The track-listing is as follows:

By Request with Orchestra
1. Truth
2. Stormbending
3. Om
4. Failure
5. By Your Command
6. Gaia
7. Deadhead
8. Canada
9. Bad Devil
10. Higher
11. A Simple Lullaby
12. Deep Peace

Ocean Machine
1. Seventh Wave
2. Life
3. Night
4. Hide Nowhere
5. Sister
6. 3 A.M.
7. Voices in the Fan
8. Greetings
9. Regulator
10. Funeral
11. Bastard
12. The Death of Music
13. Things Beyond Things

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.