Now Playing

Whitesnake - Blindman

Deep Purple to release eight classic albums on purple heavyweight vinyl

Eight classic Deep Purple albums from the years 1972 to 1977 are being reissued on limited-edition purple vinyl.

Deep Purple and Universal Music Group will release five studio albums and three live albums on Friday 7th September individually (for £16.99 to £21.99) and as a bundle costing £126.99.

The studio albums are ‘Machine Head’ (1972), ‘Who Do We Think We Are?’ (1973), ‘Burn’ (1974), Stormbringer (1974) and ‘Come Taste the Band’ (1975), while the live albums are ‘Made In Japan’ (1972), ‘Made In Europe’ (1976) and ‘Last Concert in Japan’ (1977).

All the records are have been cut from new digital transfers of the original master tapes at Abbey Road Studios, and cut to heavyweight 180-gram purple vinyl.

Each album features artwork faithfully replicated from the original pressings in conjunction with the band, and they also come with a download code.

Deep Purple drummer Ian Paice says: "These albums were recorded in the 'analogue age,' that is before digital CDs. We went from recording tape to master cutting room to pressing plant, all of these mechanical processes.

“It’s right that the listener should have the choice to listen to them via another mechanical process. By placing a needle on an 'album' on a turntable."

You can pre-order the albums individually and as a bundle right here.

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.