Now Playing

Saxon - Never Surrender

Deep Purple, Rainbow, Thunder and KISS stars for Gary Moore tribute album

Gary Moore © REX/Shutterstock

The late-great Gary Moore is being honoured by his friends, peers and family with a new tribute album.

‘Moore Blues for Gary – A Tribute To Gary Moore’ is the brainchild of Bob Daisley, who had played bass with Gary since the early eighties and personally suggested Gary to make the blues album ‘Still Got The Blues’ in 1990.

Bob, famed for working with Rainbow and Ozzy Osbourne, said of ‘Moore Blues for Gary’: “In my opinion, Gary was one of the best guitarists who ever lived. It was an honour for me to have worked with him and to have known him so well.

“When Gary passed away in 2011 the world lost one of the all-time greats. I don’t think that enough was said or done at the time to acknowledge the loss of such a great player so I took it upon myself to pay personal tribute to the man and record some new versions of his music, mostly from his blues catalogue.”

He added: “I asked many members of the Gary Moore family tree, and some other great players, to contribute to the project. The response was not only encouraging, but very moving.

“It seems that the name Gary Moore is also synonymous with the words ‘respect’, ‘honour’ and ‘greatness’. I didn’t set out to recreate anything that Gary had done, or to compete in any way, these arrangements and performances represent a ‘hats off’ to Gary and nothing more.

“Long live the memory of Robert William Gary Moore. Yes, he was an­other ‘Bob’ - something that I wasn’t aware of for all of those years that I worked with him. I feel such gratitude towards the people who contributed to this album and I’m honoured to have worked with them all.”

Rock stars that contribute to the record include Danny Bowes (Thunder), Don Airey (Deep Purple, Rainbow), Glenn Hughes (Deep Purple), Eric Singer (KISS), Steve Morse (Deep Purple, Dixie Dregs), Ricky Warwick (Thin Lizzy, Black Star Riders, The Almighty), John Sykes (ex-Thin Lizzy, Whitesnake), Doug Aldrich (Whitesnake, Dio, The Dead Daisies), Steve Lukather (Toto), Joe Lynn Turner (Rainbow), Jeff Watson (Night Ranger), Damon Johnson (Black Star Riders, Alice Cooper) and Stan Webb (Chicken Shack).

Gary's sons Jack and Gus are also involved, playing guitar and singing on ‘This One's For You’, showing that the ‘Blood Of Emeralds’ still runs their veins.

‘Moore Blues for Gary – A Tribute To Gary Moore’ is released on Friday 26th October via earMUSIC. The track-listing and personnel is as follows:

1. ‘That’s Why I Play The Blues’
Vocals - Jon C. Butler; Guitars - Tim Gaze; Bass Guitar - Bob Daisley; Drums - Rob Grosser; Keyboards - Clayton Doley

2. ‘The Blues Just Got Sadder’
Vocals - Joe Lynn Turner; Lead Guitar - Steve Lukather; Rhythm Guitar And Slide Guitar – Tim Gaze; Bass Guitar - Bob Daisley; Drums - Rob Grosser; Keyboards - Clayton Doley

3. ‘Empty Rooms’
Lead Vocal, Keyboards – Neil Carter; Bass Guitar, Harmonica, Backing Vocals – Bob Daisley;    Drums - Rob Grosser;  Guitars - Illya Szwec; Backing Vocals - Rosanna Daisley

4. ‘Still Got The Blues (For You)’
Vocals - Danny Bowes; Guitars - John Sykes; Keyboards - Don Airey; Bass Guitar - Bob Daisley; Drums - Rob Grosser

5. ‘Texas Strut’
Vocals - Brush Shiels; Bass Guitar - Bob Daisley; Guitars - Tim Gaze; Drums - Rob Grosser

6. ‘Nothing’s The Same’
Vocals - Glenn Hughes; Fretless Acoustic Bass – Bob Daisley; Cello - Ana Lenchantin; Guitars - Luis Maldonado

7. ‘The Loner’
Guitars - Doug Aldrich; Drums - Eric Singer; Bass Guitar - Bob Daisley; Keyboards - Don Airey

8. ‘Torn Inside’
Vocals, Lead Guitar – Stan Webb; Bass Guitar, Riff Guitar – Bob Daisley; Drums - Darrin Mooney; Keyboards - Lachlan Doley

9. ‘Don’t Believe A Word’
Vocals, Lead Guitar – Damon Johnson; Bass Guitar - Bob Daisley; Drums - Rob Grosser; Rhythm Guitar - Illya Szwec

10. ‘Story Of The Blues’
Lead Vocal - Jon C. Butler; Bass Guitar, Riff Guitar, Backing Vocals – Bob Daisley; Lead And Rhythm Guitar – Tim Gaze; Drums - Rob Grosser; Keyboards - Lachlan Doley; Backing Vocals - Rosanna Daisley

11. ‘This One’s For You’
Vocals - Gus Moore; Lead Guitar - Jack Moore; Bass Guitar - Bob Daisley; Drums - Rob Grosser; Rhythm Guitar - Illya Szwec

12. ‘Power Of The Blues’
Vocals - Joe Lynn Turner; Lead Guitar - Jeff Watson; Bass Guitar, Riff Guitar – Bob Daisley; Drums - Darrin Mooney; Rhythm Guitar - Illya Szwec

13. ‘Parisienne Walkways’
Guitars - Steve Morse; Vocals - Ricky Warwick; Bass Guitar - Bob Daisley; Drums - Rob Grosser; Keyboards - Clayton Doley

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.