Now Playing

The Rolling Stones - Wild Horses...

David Gilmour reveals new album details

Photo credit: Kevin Westenberg

'Rattle That Lock' will be released September 18.

The Pink Floyd guitarist's fourth solo album will be available in four different formats: gatefold vinyl LP, CD, deluxe CD/DVD package and deluxe CD/Blu-ray package.

The record was co-produced by David Gilmour and Roxy Music's Phil Manzanera, with the majority of lyrics written by Polly Samson - Gilmour's long-term writing partner.

“The album was largely recorded in a studio in Brighton,” said Gilmour. “There are parts that are recorded on my houseboat, The Astoria, as well.

"The song ’Rattle That Lock’ was inspired, musically, by the sound that’s played on French railway stations; before they make an announcement – a 4-note jingle is played. Every time I heard it would make me want to start dancing.”

You can listen to a 15-second teaser clip of the album's title track, which is set to be released as the lead single, below:

Wyatt will play the full version of the song on Planet Rock breakfast tomorrow morning (Friday July 17).

You can see the album's track listing and striking artwork below:

1) 5 A.M (Gilmour)
2) Rattle That Lock (Gilmour/Samson/Boumendil)
3) Faces Of Stone (Gilmour)
4) A Boat Lies Waiting (Gilmour/Samson)
5) Dancing Right In Front Of Me (Gilmour)
6) In Any Tongue (Gilmour/Samson)
7) Beauty (Gilmour)
8) The Girl In The Yellow Dress (Gilmour/Samson)
9) Today (Gilmour/Samson)

David Gimour - Rattle That Lock artwork

David Gilmour - Rattle That Lock artwork, designed by Dave Stansbie from The Creative Corporation and Aubrey Powell from Hipgnosis.

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.