Now Playing

Skindred - Machine

Black Sabbath announce ‘The Ten Year War’ limited edition vinyl box set

Metal overlords Black Sabbath have unveiled details of a brand new limited edition vinyl box set that will have their fans salivating.

Titled ‘The Ten Year War’, the box set collates their first eight Ozzy Osbourne fronted albums from 1970’s ‘Black Sabbath’ to 1978’s ‘Never Say Die’ alongside a veritable smorgasbord of other rarities.

Other items included in the box set include two rare 7” singles – the Japanese version of ‘Evil Woman’ and Chilean version of ‘Paranoid’ – a crucifix shaped USB stick featuring the first eight records, a hardback book, a reproduction of their 1978 world tour programme and 1972 tour poster and the extremely rare The Ten Year War brochure reproduced from the original publication.

The LPs themselves have been painstakingly reproduced from their original sleeves, re-mastered by renowned mastering engineer Andy Pearce from the original tapes and pressed on 180-gram splatter-coloured vinyl, each LP with unique and individual colouring.
Each box set is individually numbered and comes housed in exclusive artwork by renowned street artist, graphic designer and activist Shepard Fairey.

Costing £199.99, the box sets are available to pre-order now ahead of their release through Sony BMG on Friday 29th September.

The box set details are as follows:

Eight remastered LPs:

• Black Sabbath
• Paranoid
• Master Of Reality (including original fold-out colour poster)
• Vol. 4
• Sabbath Bloody Sabbath
• Sabotage
• Technical Ecstasy
• Never Say Die!

•  2 x rare 7” singles, reproduced in their original sleeves:

•  Japanese version of Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me)/Black Sabbath.

•  Chilean version of Paranoid/The Wizard (only 100 copies of the original radio promo were pressed).

•  Crucifix shaped Black Sabbath USB stick, exclusive to this box set, which can be worn round the neck and contains MQA high definition audio of the first eight Black Sabbath albums.

•  The extremely rare The Ten Year War brochure, reproduced from the original publication.

•  Hardback book, featuring accolades from the cream of rock royalty, coupled with official and candid iconic photography of the band during their 1970s tours, recording sessions and photo-shoots.

•  Tenth Anniversary World Tour 1978 Official Programme, impeccably reproduced.

•  Reprinted tour poster from the 1972 Seattle Centre Arena show.

•  Box set is individually numbered.

In other Black Sabbath news, the Birmingham band’s 1970 masterpiece ‘Paranoid’ was named the Greatest Metal Album of All Time by Rolling Stone magazine this week.

You can see the full Top 100 right here.

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.