Now Playing

Stevie Ray Vaughan - The Sky Is Crying

ASCAP Honour Steven Tyler and Joe Perry

American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers admit aerosmith members to its ranks.

Tyler and Perry will be honoured with the ASCAP Founders Award during its 30th annual Pop Music Awards, revealed President and Chairman Paul Williams today. The Aerosmith members will be presented with the award during the invitation-only gala on April 17 at the Loews Hollywood Hotel, California. 

The ASCAP Founders award recognises those who have provided exceptional contributions to popular music, to the degree of inspiring and influencing fellow musicians and songwriters. 

"To be recognized by ASCAP with the Founders Award is a huge achievement," stated Steven Tyler. "It is humbling for Joe and me to be honored for our music alongside the likes of Stevie Wonder, Neil Young, Paul McCartney and Joni Mitchell. It's been a life-long love affair and it's far from over. Besides, any society that lets Tom Waits in... I'm there!"

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.