Now Playing

The Rolling Stones - Start Me Up

Alice In Chains announce sixth album 'Rainier Fog' & unveil new song 'So Far Under'

Alice In Chains © Pamela Littky

Alice In Chains will release their first studio album in five years, ‘Rainier Fog’, on Friday 24th August.

The follow-up to 2013’s ‘The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here’ will be available digitally, as well as on CD and limited-edition double 180-gram clear LP with white and black splatter available only from the band’s online store right here.

As well as being Alice In Chains’ first studio record in half a decade, ‘Rainier Fog’ is also the first album to be recorded in the band’s native Seattle in more than 20 years.

The 10-track album was recorded at Seattle’s Studio X – previously known as Bad Animals where they tracked 1995’s self-titled ‘Alice In Chains’ – together with Henson Recording Studios in Los Angeles and at the Nashville studio of producer Nick Raskulinecz.

Alongside enlisting producer Nick Raskulinecz for the third consecutive album, ‘Rainier Fog’ was engineered by Paul Figueroa and mixed by Joe Barresi (Queens of the Stone Age, Tool).

The album title itself is a nod to Seattle, taking its name from Mount Rainier that overlooks the Washington State region.

To whet fans’ appetites ahead of the release of ‘Rainier Fog’, Alice In Chains have premiered a new song called ‘So Far Under’, which you can cast your cochleas on here:

Alice In Chains vocalist/guitarist William DuVall says of ‘So Far Under’: “It’s about feeling completely up against it – outnumbered, surrounded, facing seemingly unbeatable odds and being really pissed off about it.

“It was inspired by personal circumstances, as well as events in the wider world. But it’s not as resigned to defeat as it may seem. The lyric is a cold, hard assessment of a difficult situation but the music has a message all its own. There’s still room to flip the script.

“Every aspect of writing and recording this song will always be remembered with a lot of joy – from recording the basic tracks and the guitar solo at Studio X in Seattle to doing further overdubs at Nick Raskulinecz’s studio in rural Tennessee.

“Everyone in the band and our studio team really stepped up and knocked it out of the park on this one. We’re extremely proud of this song and the entire album.”

Both ‘So Far Under’ and Planet Rock playlisted previous single ‘The One You Know’ are available as instant grat free downloads when you pre-order the album digitally here.

The ‘Rainier Fog’ track-listing is as follows:

1. The One You Know
2. Rainier Fog

3. Red Giant
4. Fly
5. Drone
6. Deaf Ears Blind Eyes
7. Maybe
8. So Far Under
9. Never Fade
10. All I Am

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.