Now Playing

Stone Sour - Bother

Aladdin Sane 40th Anniversary Edition

Bowie to release re-mastered version.

David Bowie will release a digitally re-mastered version of his #1 album Aladdin Sane this April, in celebration of the record's 40th anniversary. 

Originally released in 1973, it was Bowie's 6th album, written while he was touring the US and described by the singer as "Ziggy goes to America". It displayed a rockier, more edgy sound than the singer's previous work. 

The pre-orders for the album totaled more than 100,000, which at the time was a feat unrivaled except by the Beatles. It marked Bowie's first number 1 album in the UK, and reached number 17 on the US Billboard. 

Ray Staff, who cut the original LP, has remastered the 40th anniversary edition. You can view the tracklisting below. 

01. Watch That Man
02. Aladdin Sane
03. Drive-In Saturday
04. Panic In Detroit 
05. Cracked Actor 
06. Time 
07. The Prettiest Star
08. Let's Spend the Night Together 
09. The Jean Genie 
10. Lady Grinning Soul 

More from Rock News


Add a comment

Log in to the club or enter your details below.