Now Playing

The Quireboys - I Don't Love You Anymore

Rush: Moving Pictures - 30th Anniversary Edition

Rush have reissued Moving Pictures as a CD/DVD and CD/Blu Ray. The brand new 30th Anniversary Edition of the album contains the original album on CD and a 5.1 surround mix of the album on the DVD or Blu Ray, which also contain the music videos for 'Tom Sawyer', 'Limelight' and 'Vital Signs.'

The 5.1 Surround Sound remix of Moving Pictures was handled by Canadian producer/engineer Richard Chycki who is known for his work with Aerosmith and Our Lady Peace, and who teamed up with Nick Raskulinecz on Rush's last studio album, 2007's "Snakes & Arrows". He recently wrote on his official blog, "I finished tweaks on 'Red Barchetta' [on February 3]. It really was an amazing experience to spread the original tracks of such a classic CD into the 3D word of surround. (The car speeds off, goes behind and banks a sharp right in rear, [by the way]). The listening experience is drastically enveloping and coupled with songs and performances that epitomize this band, it's definitely a great time to re-discover RUSH.

"After discussion with the band, the goal here was to pay serious homage to the production of the era so a considerable amount of time was spent researching and working through effects, etc. that matched the original but would fare well in the 5.1 world. And, of course, placement was also a critical issue. I'm pleased with the results and Alex Lifeson was pretty blown away when he came in to listen to the finals."

Here's the CD/DVD & Blu Ray contents:

Disc 1:
01. Tom Sawyer
02. Red Barchetta
03. YYZ
04. Limelight
05. The Camera Eye
06. Witch Hunt
07. Vital Signs

Disc 2:
01. Tom Sawyer (Audiophile 5.1 Surround and Stereo)
02. Red Barchetta (Audiophile 5.1 Surround and Stereo)
03. YYZ (Audiophile 5.1 Surround and Stereo)
04. Limelight (Audiophile 5.1 Surround and Stereo)
05. The Camera Eye (Audiophile 5.1 Surround and Stereo)
06. Witch Hunt (Audiophile 5.1 Surround and Stereo)
07. Vital Signs (Audiophile 5.1 Surround and Stereo)
08. Tom Sawyer (Music Video - 5.1 & Stereo)
09. Limelight (Music Video - 5.1 & Stereo)
10. Vital Signs (Music Video - 5.1 & Stereo)

Buy the album here: