Home > News > Rock News > R.E.M. Unveil Film Project

R.E.M. Unveil Film Project

Thursday, March 3rd 2011 00:00

The band commission films for each of their new album's tracks

NME reports that the Collapse Into Now Film Project, which was personally curated by frontman Michael Stipe, features a host of artists and film-makers tackling different songs from the band's 15th studio album. The list of directors includes actor Franco, artist and director Taylor-Wood and Oscar-nominated documentary filmmaker Albert Maysles.

Stipe tells the NME: "It was a way of presenting the idea of an album in 2011, beyond a music fan's idea of an album 20 years ago. The way technology is right now, it's possible to present something in any way you want to. I basically wanted to explore the idea of what is an album, and how do we present it with everything that we have available.

"I like the opportunities the 21st century have provided for presenting work in a different way.

"It was really fun for me to curate, working with all these different artists, and seeing how they interpreted the songs. The thing that was surprising is how much they interlockingly work, like an album."

Here's the list of songs and their directors:

Discoverer (Michael and Lynda Stipe)
All The Best (James Herbert)
Uberlin (Sam Taylor Wood)
Oh My Heart (Jem Cohen)
It Happened Today (Tom Gilroy)
Every Day Is Yours To Win (Jim McKay, Chris Moukarbel and Valerie Veatch)
Mine Smell Like Honey (Dominic DeJoseph)
Walk It Back (Sophie Calle)
Alligator_Aviator_ Antipilot_ Antimatter (Lance Bangs)
That Someone Is You (James Franco)
Me, Marlon Brando, Marlon Brando And I (Albert Maysles and Bradley Kaplan)
Blue (James Franco)

The films will be released over the next few weeks.


Tagged: R E M

Buy R E M Albums

More from Rock News


Add A Comment